✨🧚Enchanting Fawn 🦌✨ - a Gift for my Daughter

in #art4 years ago

Hey everyone!

How's your week been?

Has everyone been having a chaotic start to their year, or is it just something being felt around here? I feel like the Saturn/Pluto conjunction earlier this month has had a larger effect on things than I was bargaining for. (I know some don't believe the planets or the moon have an effect on us, but we'll just have to agree to disagree.) The whole family's energy levels have been next to nil, and plans kind of keep getting waylaid... frustrating, to say the least. But I'm doing my best to just flow with things, rather than try to fight it, in hopes of making life slightly less frustrating. Plus, despite all that's going on, I'm holding myself accountable, and getting my butt in front of a computer long enough to share something with you all this week.

deercrop

My last post was really well received, and I'm feeling really encouraged with all the positive feedback, so I'm bringing you all another art post.

This is a gift I made for Little Miss for her birthday this year past. I'd drawn up the fawn quite some time beforehand, with a number behind it, with the idea that it would be a birthday gift for her on a different birthday. But time got away from me, and I was having commitment issues, afraid to start the painting process, worried I would be unhappy with results, and not be able to replicate the sketch. I've since had a fair bit of practice with my watercolors, and am learning to let go of those insecurities, so with a quick change from a number to a letter (her first initial), and the addition of a few fairy friends, I got to work.

Here's a pic I snapped of the drawing, before adding the fairies. It was drawn with a 4H pencil, so the lines were quite light, making it tough to get a clear picture, but you get the idea.
drawing

I didn't take many progress shots, as I was on a mission to finish it in time for her birthday, and I'd procrastinated far too much, but here's one I snapped after my first sitting with it at a ladies' art night a friend of mine organizes from time to time.
progress

There were several more sittings between the first and last, but whenever I found the time to get the paints out, I didn't think to take the extra time to snap pictures of the progress before getting started. After all, a mama needs to take full advantage of quiet moments, in order to be as productive as possible.

After I'd finished up with the watercolors, I went back over the painting with my metallic Sharpie paint pens, and added some gilding and sparkle here and there, then finished it in my usual way, outlining the subject in ink, using Micron pens. I used a light touch, to keep things looking soft and delicate.

finished




Here are a couple crops, to better show more of the details:

crown

giggles

snaily




I'm happy to say that Little Miss was thrilled to receive her very own painting. She loves the fairies, and says "awww, the baby deer is so CYYYUUUUTE!" She also appreciates all the shiny bits, which makes me happy as well... Girl after my own heart. haha

I finally found a large enough frame with a mat that I could custom cut to fit the painting, which I did just this week. Now she can enjoy looking at it whenever she's in her room, without me worrying about grubby little fingers making stains all over it. Of course, the frame had to have some sparkle too.

frame

Now I've been requested to do up a painting for Wee Man's next birthday. He's put in several requests for subject matter, but being that this one was a surprise for his sister, it seems only fair that his be a surprise too. Fortunately, I think I know my kidlets well enough to be able to come up with something he'll enjoy. At least I have a while to come up with something... hopefully I've learned my lesson and don't end up leaving it to the last minute again. But I am admittedly a life-long procrastinator, so we will see how well I do with my "personal growth" this year. haha

That's all from me today - hope you enjoyed it!

I'm going to do my best to get working on something a little different for next week. Perhaps a food post, or perhaps a travel post. We'll see how ambitious I'm feeling, and how well things fall into place. Fingers crossed the next week will be slightly less challenging.

As always, if you have any suggestions/requests for future posts, feedback, etc, please feel free to leave a comment.

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

A very beautiful job with very delicate colors. Finding a suitable framework is essential for the works of plastic arts.

The step by step is very good; The same thing happens to me as you, I always forget to take some photographs or capture how the work is created.

With regard to the planets, I think the following: if we are in permanent interaction with the universe and believe in the energies (good or bad) then there is a connection between the planets and the inhabitants living on earth. It is not something that governs my life but I do believe in the connection.

A big hello to you @offbeatbroad and another to your daughter

Hello to you @marcybetancourt and thanks for stopping by!
Thank you for a very thoughtful comment! I'm glad I'm not the only one who forgets to take progress shots - sometimes you just have to go with your inspiration and not think about other things, or risk losing the inspiration all together.
Yes, exactly - I don't live my life checking the stars and planetary alignments, waiting for "the right moment" to do this or that, but when something significant happens in the universe, I believe its effects can be felt. Usually I notice strange behaviour first, and then I go looking for an explanation. haha

Your painting is very beautiful and tender, you made me relive the Bambi film. I loved that you knew how to capture all the details to make it, the colors you chose were very warm and tender. I congratulate you for your good art and for your curie vote. Greetings.

Thanks for your kind words!

You used a light touch to keep things looking soft and delicate,thats why Little Miss was thrilled.Girls like shinny bits and fairies too.

Congratulations @offbeatbroad! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

@offbeatbroad, In my opinion too, we should go with the Flow instead of fighting with all the things which are coming towards us.

In that Art Piece we can see the beauty of Nature and Nature's Creations. Stay blessed. 🙂

It's beautiful! Well done mama. Sometimes we procrastinate because we need to. It would not have looked as great if you didn't. Well done for finding the time to create masterpieces during your busy day!

Thanks very much! I have always done some of my best work while under pressure. But I need to remember to budget my time more effectively, so I can enjoy the whole process instead of feeling stressed and under pressure. lol

When you figure that out. Please let me know. I'm always doing the same thing.

Hi offbeatbroad,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much!

Your post was voted by THEUNIONSUPPORT.

tus_fondzooom1.jpg

hey, this is a great painting, it is not difficult to believe that miss little was happy !! I think this will increase your little girl's creativity and dreams;)) thank you for sharing and congratulations on your work

Thank you! She is a very creative little one. I think we fuel each other's creative sides.

Absolutely beautiful painting any little miss would love. I particularly like the colors, classic girlish. And of course, the fairies add a whimsical touch to the painting overall. Playful to have the fairies adjusting the headdress. I see the blue colored back board. But the only item I thought was a bit dark was the frame itself. It's the shade of wood in the frame. It goes pair well with the light brownish in he painting, though. Overall, it's a beautiful piece that I know she will cherish forever.

Thanks for sharing your step-by-step on how you accommplished your work.

Thanks for your great comment!

The frame is actually a reflective deep silver color, but in the photo it was reflecting some dark things around me. haha

Hi @offbeatbroad Thanks for your explanation. I see now. The deep silver does look like a blue. In any event, it's a beautiful drawing. You are talented, and I appreciate you sharing your work with us. I'll bookmark you so I can find you easily next time.

Have a great day, and take care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01