Inspiring Art & Design from Around the Web - Issue No 1

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello all. Since Steem is a fairly young platform I’m still experimenting with the format here on my blog. On my other website at the189.com I’ve been offering a round up of interesting content from around the web via our newsletter. My idea was to inspire creativity in our readers and I thought it would be a great idea to translate that over to here and hopefully inspire my Steemit readers too.

So today I wanted to highlight some projects from the fields of art, design and craft that inspired me in the last few weeks. I will start this series of "Interesting Content from Around the Web" today, but I hope to keep it going as a regular slot on my page here. What do you think? I would be interested to know your thoughts in comments section below. See you there.

Thanks so much for reading 🙂


Possibilities in Furniture - Ceramic Designs by Julen Ussia Guillen

An upcoming Spanish artist that's working with ceramic to experiment with a mixture of furniture solutions. Not only are they functional, they are also sculptural and have lots of potential. I really like his work and will be keeping an eye out for more in the future from him.


Aesence - Minimal Digital Design Curation by Sarah Dorweiler

Sarah Dorweiler started this website only two years ago and it has already garnered a lot of attention online. She has a knack for showing clean minimal design, taking photos of the objects themselves and commenting on them. This picture above recently one an award online, definitely one worth subscribing to.


In the Shadows - Fine Art Photography by Bill Armstrong

Bill Armstrong has been photographing since 1997. His series of imagery that blur and distort human like figures really captivated me, in many ways they are like paintings. Blurring the lines like this is quite something as most people talk about the clarity and pixels in their imagery, but Bill is using his camera as a tool to create fine art. Enjoy.


Tokyo Craft: Blue Romance - Four Part Series on Tokyo Contemporary Craftsmen

An interesting series on four different craftsmen based in the Tokyo area in collaboration with PEN Magazine. This particular video highlights the work of Indigo master Noriyuki Murata, the other videos featuring a bike maker and a glass craftsman. I was initially drawn to this series thanks to the style of filming, it's certainly unique and I hope you will enjoy watching them.


Sporadic Painting - Creative Artworks by San Francisco Artist Heather Day

Wow, what a creative talent! Using a mixture of methods to lay paint on the canvas in a sporadic manner is Heather Day, a young artist based in the San Francisco area. I liked the freedom in her art. Although abstract there are some fun and playful qualities about her work.


Graphic Vases - Geometric Shapes on Ceramics by Pawena Studio

A great idea by Pawena, a ceramic artist that's working in Los Angeles. Although she works in the field of ceramics she has created these functional forms that have had a painted graphic applied to the side. Really unique works of functional art. Piece can be purchased on her website too!


Based on Shapes - Playful Art by Polish Artist Przemek Pyszczek

If you're looking for something to brighten up your day then check out these art works by Przemek Pyszczek. This image is from an exhibit he held at Galerie Derouillon in Paris. Although my own style is not this colourful, I respect the simplicity in the work and how he is working in a number of different mediums.


Frozen World - Mixed Imagery by Photographer Yukari Chikura

Japanese culture is always on my radar. Yukari Chikura captures this culture and the nature very well on her portfolio so I decided to highlight it here. She has a special talent for picking up the details that others might ignore. Enjoy.

Previous Posts:


Forest + Found - Woodwork & Textiles by Max Bainbridge and Abigail Booth
Accidental Shapes & Patterns – Mobiles and Paintings by Jenni Rope
The Utility of Things - Gather Vases by Product Designer Sam Anderson
A Study of Bending Light – Mellow Collection by Hattern Design Studio
The Spaces Between - Brush Mark Paintings by British Artist Roanna Wells
Referencing Earth & Landscape - Ceramics by Swedish Maker Ulrica Trulsson

Please follow me @oen 😃

Sort:  

I enjoyed it. But I'm enjoying all your posts!

thanks @choogirl 😌 really appreciate your support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79