How I Draw Watercolor Portret With 3 Colors ► Art Blog Process

in #art6 years ago (edited)

обложка.jpg

Hi gals, boys, and everyone. Today I want to show you the process behind this watercolor illustrations. I can't say that this is tutorial, but maybe it would be interesting to watch. Sorry for the quality of photos, I draw every evening and cant rely on daylight. The final result I normally shoot at lunch, and it looks much better. I draw every day, and this pic is 37 of 100-day drawing challenge, so it's basically my art blog :).

I start with searching for good reference, usually, I use Pinterest, but for now, I go to the Unsplash – service with free photos.
After I found the reference I start sketching. I recommend pencil like this – it is double-sided color pencil from Faber-Castell that you could erase almost completely. Analog for this pencil is Prismacolor Col-Erase, but they don't sell in Russia.

pic1.jpg

Girl that I found, and double-sided color pencil from Faber-Castell

After sketching face I go to find an idea for the rest of the piece. Looking on her hairstyle I thought that I can add a veil, so let's do this, and also add wedding dress. I use red for skin and blue for dress and veil, it helps when we start to draw with watercolor.

pic2.jpg

The sketch is ready, so I take my art eraser (looks like a plasticine) to fade line

And then I finally start coloring. I use 3 colors here - indigo from "Van Gogh", Ruby and Cobalt Blue from "White Nights".

pic3.jpg

My watercolor, and here is also my pallet

I decided to make this illustration soft and pastel, so I start with light indigo glaze and also add light glaze with ruby for the skin.

pic4.jpg

Started point for colors

Next step – draw the veil, add more indigo + Cobalt blue to the background. I think I added too much, that happened because I wanted to create more contrast between the background and dress + veil, cause they primary white with light cobalt blue shades. And also I add shades on the girl with mixing cobalt blue and ruby.

pic5.jpg

Almost done

And at the end, I add a light ruby lining for this piece, cause as I said before – I don't want to make this watercolor too saturated, here is the only way that I can finish this art.

pic6.jpg

Done!

That's it, I hope you enjoy it! Leave your questions and suggestions – I read every comment. :)

футтер.gif

Valentina Egorova aka Octopaper

Upwork | instagram | 99designs

Sort:  

wow...looking really nice...awesome

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

Sorry, now following! Thank you :)

Неплохой такой вызов - да и еще рисовать каждый день... Всегда восхищают люди, которые могут уделять этому занятию хоть чуть-чуть времени, но каждый день. Себе же временных рамок для своих проектов вообще никаких не ставлю - знаю, что сразу сдуюсь :)

Я вообще мастер опаздывать и пропускать сроки – фриланс очень расслабляет в этом плане. Но весной у меня пик активности, и внезапно решила добавить себе обязанностей :) На самом деле очень увлекательное и полезное дело - многое узнала про цвет, различные техники попробовала, и выработала low effort – лучше что-то, чем вообще ничего.

Потенциально, такие посты должны набирать много апвотов. Но может быть сначала надо завести тут побольше заинтересованных френдов? Кстати, я где-то писал, что вроде тут не считается зазорным предлагать кому-то взаимную дружбу - прям так и писать людям в комментариях - Я художник и проч. Я тебя зафолловил, и ты следуй за мной.

Спасибо, буду искать народ. Я прошлась по списку artru, но пока народу не очень много. Пойду искать англоязычных друзей :)

Задумывалось так, что участники artru, время от времени, смотрят в новое этого нашего раздела и автоматом апвотят все посты. Т.е., по идее, можно и не дружить с нашими :-)

Люди тут еще с помощью ботов зарабатывают, но я пока в них толком не разобрался. Может быть вскоре напишу ознакомительный пост, а потом уж все вместе попробуем разобраться.

Да, многие из наших только еще собираются сделать свой первый пост, поэтому активности нет. Но, надеюсь, потихоньку втянутся.

А может, как говорится, тупо сделать новый пост с заголовком что-то типа "Ищу френдов таких-то" и в посте прямо написать, что ищу друзей, буду постить то-то и то-то. Т.е. прям без прикрас прокричать. И заинтересовать...

wow, so difficult challange - to draw every day @_@ crazy)) Good luck!

Thank you <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73