You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Making of the "Dionysus" Oil Painting

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Excellent, it is very interesting to have an insight of the artist's thoughts while creating art. And I am amazed at all the symbolism and connections that went through your mind, and materialized in this impressive painting. Horus & Dionysus, both connected to Christ -- all aspects of the same principle: salvation through death & rebirth, just like the chrysalis you mention above.

The painting is great and unsettling at the same time, because of the erotic abstract depiction of Dionysus, as well as the seemingly out-of-place presence of the cylinders. I like that distracting element in a lot of your paintings. Here is a fractal I've come upon today and seems like a part of the puzzle:
headpiece

Sort:  

@Nyarlathotep I really appreciate your analysis of the work and the content I shared in relation to it. I am always somewhat surprised myself when a piece "comes together", with respect to the symbols, relationships, and interpretations. When various factions of the mind bear synthesis the work feels complete. You are right, there is a western Christ consciousness aspect to this, in addition to a psychedelic association, and even Buddhism, on a variety of levels visually and symbolically. The relationships between Horus, Christ, and Dionysus was not so much something I studied and applied, as something I received and conveyed. Sometimes it is only after I finish a work and research the literal definitions/etymologies of symbols and archetypes within it, that I more fully understand what exactly it is as a manifestation. The fractal you shared seems to integrate for me into the body of the Dionysus figure, specifically its orifices--a kind of proto erogenous organic consciousness. Interesting.
Thanks for your insight and engagement! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58237.47
ETH 2479.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38