Jenny's Art Contest Week #12: FLOATING MARKET

in #art6 years ago (edited)

People of Steemit! This is my entry to Jenny's (aka @topkpop) Art Contest with the theme, FRESH. Check out the post out and give it lots of love here. (ノ^ヮ^)ノ*:・゚✧

Here is my entry.

Fresh Challenge.png

In Thailand, floating markets are called talātnām, and are vastly popular tourist attractions.

Quite a literal interpretation, eh? LOL. I live in a country that is basically a group of islands in the tropics. There are a lot of wet markets here, some are open almost 24/7. When I think of the word fresh, it's fruits, veggies, meat and fish, and stalls that inevitably come to mind.

"Is that Pad Thai I smell?"

I chose to draw a floating market, which is very popular in southeast Asia. The vendors sell fresh produce, hats, clothes, souvenirs and even cook local dishes - all while balancing on these narrow boats.

Here in the Philippines, we have markets by the river, but not markets ON a river. ( ⚆ _ ⚆ ) I'm not the best on boats and all I could think of while drawing this was, I hope they don't fall over!

Obviously the vendors are all pro boatmen and boatwomen so no danger of that!


Process

This is my very first time using a drawing pad! Hooray! I borrowed my sissy's WACOM for this and used the free software ArtRage - a major step-up from my usual go-to, MS Paint (I still love you, Paint).

For the water I used...

  • Paintroller
  • Watercolor brush (for shadows)
  • Ink Pen (for white highlights)

For the boats and people...

  • Watercolor brush in different sizes
  • Ink Pen for outlines and highlights

Watch the market float to existence:

Fresh Collage.png

The Layer Function is so helpful, especially because I don't have a particular order when coloring pictures. I can always switch between layers when I need to add more color or detail, without smudging the paint.

Layer Collage.png

Layering 'em up like onions sold at the market.

I hope you guys like it and give it some love.

Obligatory confetti throw ◦°˚(*❛‿❛)/˚°◦


That's it and thanks for taking a peek at this post!

See you soon
Bis balt
Hasta pronto,

Noelle.png


Follow to see more artistic attempts @noellesevilla

ART PROMO GIF.gif


Steemit Achievers Logo.png

Sort:  

your idea is awesome for the theme girl ! and your work is beautiful :) best of luck girl !

Thank you so much @nessyquel!

sending love your way

٩꒰ ˘ ³˘꒱۶~♡

Grabe talaga, such a pro! I really admire you and your ate's drawing talent!!! Sana marunong din ako ng ganyan!

Thank you, thank you! Everyone can draw! Like my sis says, just takes practice.

(◍•ᴗ•◍)❤

Ohhhh another art contest by @topkpop hehe.. nice one sis
This looks way better.. looks smoother and more complete.

Space Princess thanks you

♡˖꒰ᵕ༚ᵕ⑅꒱

Nice, very detailed, good luck!

Arigatou, Shishou-san!

( ̄^ ̄)ゞ

Artrage is cool, you will love it !
I adore this softw, it is the one and only I use since my first wacom pad, as it is the soft they offered with it...since them, I have never used something else because it is so very complete ! ;-)

Your drawing is freshly wonderful sweetie ^_^

Good to know!I really liked ArtRage and more so now since you use it too!

Thank you for stopping by, dear Barbara!

very nice art.

thanks birjuuuuuuu!

Wow! This art work you created and how you seen it in your mind, Makes me want to go there. Really good! That was an amazing idea. Best of luck.

Thankssss! I was really happy with how my first try with the software went. I was able to draw exactly what was in my head, and that doesn't happen too often.

(❁´ω`❁)

mabal-an rajud tikang drawing ka., hahahaha

I lol'ed hahahaha. Thanks for dropping by @g10a and slr (not sure how I missed this)

beautiful work, very beautiful your color palette. Did not it cost you to do so much detail inside the canoes? very interesting, inspired by thailand, I hope at some point to know, greetings and hugs from Venezuela. Luck in the contest, I'm also participating. By the way, I would love to invite you to my artistic discord channel, you are welcome if you wish so <3 https://discord.gg/mym3yGE

Hola! Thanks for your comment! I'll check out your link on Discord! It took me a looooong time to finish this, and yes, this has a lot of detail. The artwork looks smaller in this post. The actual image file is much bigger (big enough to fill a computer screen). It was worth it tho! I love how this turned out.

Already followed u, btw. Your art is waaaay more amazing than mine. ;)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @noellesevilla to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94