MinnowBooster - SuperGoat Character Design Competition: niko3d Entry

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hey Folks

I've just finished my entry to the @minnowbooster super goat character design contest Hosted by @beekart and minnowbooster.

The challenge: We had to come up with a brand new design for Super Goat :-)
So naturally I was drawn to this one.


So let me Introduce him.

  • He's not your text book super hero.
  • Hes the Protector of Minnows, eater of daisy's and breaker of hard things.
  • His horns are harder then steel, muscles ripplier than umm muscles.. and eyes so fiery they are actually on fire.
  • He's SuperGoat!!

superGoat_Final_Niko3d.jpg

So a bit about the process. First up a timelapse gif showing a visual breakdown of how I created Super Goat.
SuperGoat_niko3d.gif

I began with a pencil sketch and played about with various ideas, initially I had sketched a classic super hero character battling a giant whale. It was a fun idea but I felt it went beyond the character design challenge .

So I transitioned my focus to Super Goat him self. I sketched up this design, using various bits of reference as a guide from goats to Wolverine and Dwayne "the Rock" Johnson.

superGoat_sketch_small.jpg

You will notice I roughly blocked in the colour and tone before building up a graphic fur style. Keep an eye on his cigar, while I questioned the use of the cigar with our contest host, I decided to switch out to a daisy flower, just a little more goaty :-D

frame0004_1.jpg

Have to say the trickiest part of this image had been the metallic horns.... I think i repainted them 4 times.
frame0011_1.jpg

Version 4 of the horns.
frame0014_1.jpg

Then refined plus bonus flower ;-)

frame0017_1.jpg

I painted this in PaintStormStudio a cheap but powerful painting app, and used Krita for the Logo work which is a free "photoshop".

Thats how I designed a new SuperGoat, thanks for viewing.
Nick aka @niko3d


As ever if you enjoy any posts you view, upvotes and resteems are always appreciated by everyone.
Check our my blog for more Art, Photography Articles, Googlyeyes and 100% original memes.

Sort:  

What fun from a tobacco to a flower, I liked the detail. I've only participated in a contest and it was drawing. I will be attentive to the design ones.
Que divertido de un tabaco a una flor, me gusto el detalle. solo he participado en un concurso y fue de dibujo. estare atenta a los de diseño.

9D1A2CB1-255C-4755-BF5C-C3918018D5F3.gifI uploaded instantly that is such a cool picture I don’t even know how to tell you @swt3df1

You just told me :) thanks for the nice feedback.

I just resteemed your post to over 36,000 followers. Follow @a-0-0 if you want me to resteem more of your posts.

awesome artwork... Real O.G. ... well the G means Goat now and it's silly to explain a joke...

but what I really wanted to say, this:

challange

made my day... because I always thought it was a problem I was having because I am not a native English speaker... the next time I'll make that mistake, I can blame it on you for being a bad example.

Haha have to say my spelling gets worse the later in the night I post. But truly I'd be the worst example on that front, auto correct and spell check usually save my goat. 🐐 Lol at O.G :D

So sick dude!

He looks badass enough to protect any minnow, even with flower in mouth haha

Its all about flower power :D cheers for the comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81