My Painting: The Discovery

in #art7 years ago

The Discovery

TheDiscoverycopy_detail.jpg
Detail of "The Discovery", acrylic on canvas


Greetings Steemians!

I am a painter, activist, and educator yet I have this tendency for blending all these (and more) interests of mine into one. I guess that is how my mind works, haha!

One of my interests as a youth was Hip Hop music, I still appreciate the older songs and recording artists and I can appreciate some of the new guys as well! I wrote in an earlier post about this love mine for the genre and how this influences some of my work.

I woke up one morning with this concept for a new painting in which I would attempt to capture the moment of how I felt when I heard Hip Hop music for first time. Since I am a figurative painter (of sorts) I had to find a subject who would sit for this painting and thankfully, I didn't have to look too far because one of my easiest to acquire models was nearby- my older son! He was about 12 years old at the time and fit just right for theme. I also decided to incorporate elements and icons of Hip Hop so I came up with: a turntable, some breakdancers, and DJs.

After a few days of working on the painting and having my poor suffering son sit for some of that time, I finally came up with a work that I felt satisfied with enough to call it finished.

TheDiscovery copy.jpg
"The Discovery", acrylic on canvas

Thank you for taking the time to look at this painting!

If you like this post please feel free to visit my other posts and upvote & resteem- Thank you!

https://steemit.com/art/@nichi/my-painting-the-blue-woman

https://steemit.com/life/@nichi/the-shoes-and-the-train-platform

https://steemit.com/life/@nichi/mindfulness-for-young-children



Join the @thealliance today- a wonderful and supportive Steemit community!

IMG_5544.PNG

nichi.png

Image

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 52.0% @abhishek77 upgoat, thanks to @gyzimo
It consists of $2.22 vote and $0.74 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nichi to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I love this dear. Beautiful painting and love the writing about your thoughts and letting us in your mind... Lol 😉
I love the LP player it's a favorite and you rarely se them anymore.
Thank you for sharing. Loved it. Cheers! 🤗

Thank you so much @saffisara <3 the record player in the painting was actually my own :)

You are welcome dear 😊 I figured that... Lol
I wish I still had one to. My parents does.
It was amazing, loved this painting!
Happy Friday. Cheers! 🤗

Happy Friday 😊

It’s wonderful and even more so reading your mindset and thoughts it creating this

Tip!

:D Thank you very much @tattoodjay!

Very cool painting. How long did this take you?

Thank you @gniksivart :) I would say 3 good nights- after the kids are in bed lol! it's about 36"x48" :)

Haha I always get my best work done after I put the kids down as well :D

Your work is absolutely phenomenal. It is a pleasure knowing you, @nichi. Your art makes the world a prettier place to look at ;)
x x
Mo

<3 Thank you very much @molovelly! You are so funny and love your stories-- maybe we can collab?

Wow you have Amazing talent @nichi!!! I love this painting of your son. Your love for Hip Hop is pretty cool, I grew up listening to quite a bit of it. Thanks for sharing your wonderful talents!!!

Thank you very much @crosheille! He is a trooper when it comes to me painting him LOL!

You’re welcome! Lol I bet! 😄

Did that painting by yourself ?? !! Wow!! Thats cool... Upvoted Followed

Yes @jeeandmee :) Thank you very much!!!

Congratulations @nichi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44