My Painting: "Decolonize Boriken to Standing Rock" part 2

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Decolonize-BORIKENtoSR copy.jpeg
"Decolonize Boriken to Standing Rock", acrylic on wood

Recap

This time last year, I was asked to be a part of a "happening" called Tiny Room For Elephants (TRFE). It was a month long event that transformed an old warehouse, in the middle of town into an amazingly vibrant space where creatives of all backgrounds gathered to do what they did best.

IMG_2304.JPG
Inside the warehouse space during one of the events

Race to the finish...

decolonize painting 3.jpg
Tools of the trade. Here is the scissor lift that was used by myself and other artists to reach the high areas on our murals

Many of us worked on different schedules but all artists had to finish before the opening. I had a job and cared for family during the day, so I had to make every moment I spent at the warehouse count. I was able to work on the painting 3 nights a week, usually starting after 9pm and painted until 1am, coming home covered in paint, all I had energy for was to clean up and collapse onto my bed.

14639787_10211205766885590_1868614414538593782_n.jpg
Painter's hands

close up of Decolonize painting2.jpg
One of the elephants in the room

The Concept 2...

As I wrote before , I tend to paint and draw about issues that affect my community or society at large. The topic I chose to focus on, Colonization, in which the pressing issues of Indigenous Sovereignty at Standing Rock and the status of Boriken (Taino word for Puerto Rico)as a colony of the United States, began to materialize on the surface of the wood panel. The central figure, a young Lakota woman firmly holding the "Black Snake" seemingly unfazed by its aggressive stance, her blue regalia flows down to her feet as it turns to rivers of water.

14479680_10211135523129540_447591620221870530_n.jpg
Detail of the center of the painting, acrylic on wood


Towards the left of the painting, there is a woman holding the colonial flag of Puerto Rico, her face turned away seemingly in shame, yet the statue, a Cemi, emerges from behind as if to encourage her to move forward. Will she turn to show her face? Time will tell. To the left of her on the bottom, is the Jibaro, a descendent of the Indigenous Taino People, standing at the ready to defend Boriken.

closeup of Decolonize painting.jpg
Detail of the left side of painting, acrylic on wood

The Big Night...

14915192_10211236865183028_2302293007669242272_n.jpg
An hour before the doors open to the general public


I managed to finish the mural just hours before opening, I was so relieved and exhausted, but there was no time! I had to run home( across town), clean up, then return in time for the event and able to make it back in time to enjoy all the art displayed as well as hang out with fellow artists.

IMG_2322.JPG
Music, art, fun, and, laser lights!


What an amazing experience to have had this chance to do my work, meet great people, and form lasting friendships!

All images words and images are my own


If you like this post please feel free to visit my other art post and upvote & resteem- Thank you!

https://steemit.com/art/@nichi/color-challenge-blue-fridays-one-day-late



Join the @thealliance today- a wonderful and supportive Steemit community!

thumbnail-1.jpeg

Image

Sort:  


sneaky-ninja-two-swords-story-sneaky-ninja-thealliance-steem-steemitcomics small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack!!
You have been defended with a 2.61 % upvote!
To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong I rely on the townspeople of Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア).
I was summoned by: @nichi.
I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh

Amazing work

Loading...

Great work to celebrate the resistance of human being!!!

Congratulations @nichi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is absolutely beautiful. I cannot believe how big that is. You are so dedicated and it turned out to be absolutely stunning.

Thank you so much :D @topkpop!

Thank you so much @enginewitty!

This is absolutely amazing 😉 I love your painting and your story about it. The painting is huge and such a creative art.
Love the results.... Thank you for sharing.
That must have been a great day.

Really thought provoking images! The venue looks cool too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46