Why make stuff?

in #art6 years ago

IMG-9750.JPGgetting my creative juices flowing in my studio

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how to change up my paradigm as an artist. For a few years I’ve been hungry for something more and in the process of discovery, I’m regularly asking myself - what’s missing, what do I want to make, how do I want to earn money, is making things still important to me, still necessary, and the big questions of whether being an artist contributes enough to the world, whether it’s important enough.

IMG-9677.JPG
cutting tile is always a meditative experience

The question of whether art is important enough has always been a big one for me. Years ago as a student I was wresting with this same question and one day a professor from the graduate art program was listening in on a friend and I talking about this. She first asked me why I made things in clay and I said something about loving it and that it was the first thing in my life I could fully give myself to. Her next words have stayed with me all these years and helped every time I had doubts about the validity of art as my profession

she said that if I wasn't doing what I had to, what I loved, what enabled me then I wasn’t going to be of much use or good to anyone anyway.

So here I am 30 years later and finally at this point I no longer have to pull her words out of my pocket to revisit, I feel their truth. I KNOW in every cell of my being the power for me of engaging in creating.

It puts me in the dimension of joy, of wellness; my spirt relaxes, my heart opens, and my smile comes easily for days to come.

IMG_9803.jpg

I wondered if moving and living in a different place would shift this in some way and I’m sure it will, but so far I’m even more wedded to my love of creation and more acutely aware of the power of handmade beautiful objects once they are in use in my life! These things make my day measurably better every single day.

So for today, I'm at peace with my searchings. Maybe tomorrow my asking will yield something else and when it does I will share it.


IMG-9450.JPG

aka Ruth Frances Greenberg, I am a ceramic artist who makes mosaics, tile and all things clay from my home studio in rural Connecticut, USA. I’m here on Steemit to offer my support and friendship to creatives, individuals and projects that I value and want to see more of in the world. The decentralized economy and blockchain technology are promising and I am very pleased to be a part of this exciting new revolution.

Your support means the world to me and enables me to pursue my life and creativity with more freedom and opportunity, thank you! You can learn more about me and my work at www.ruthfrancesgreenberg.com

Sort:  

Lovely photo of your make stuff.

I am glad that you are at peace with your searching, even if it's only lasting for now :).
                       
It would be strange for me to know a version of you who are not a talented ceramic artist, and though it would be sad, on the other hand, I fully believe that you will still shine brightly in these other areas that you choose to dedicate yourself to, in this alternate dimension.

Ha, funny to imagine a "me" that doesn't make stuff with clay. I can also imagine it but I'm not sure life would make sense anymore! Thanks for your friendship and support @scrawly :-)

I love your work.

Doing something which you can get obsessed about and you can love is a beautiful thing. It's even better when you can turn that thing into a career.

Keep creating Ruth!

Cg

so true and thanks @cryptogee for your friendship, your vote of confidence and your support!

Isn't it funny how we question things? I'm constantly re-evaluating my choices, looking at my life and contemplating what I could do differently. Yet what you said about creativity and art rings especially true to me, though my creativity generally comes out as music and writing:

It puts me in the dimension of joy, of wellness; my spirt relaxes, my heart opens, and my smile comes easily for days to come.

YES! This. When I'm sharing my spirit through music and poetry, through dance and imagination, I feel alive. It is truly a wonderful thing. 💞

Good to hear that you question this too....I've always wondered if it made me less of a "real" artist (whatever THAT means, lol!)

Creating is the most powerful joy bringer isn't it?! I suppose it activates the same thing as love. Thanks for your comment, love hearing from you!

YES! Joy and love are often intertwined, especially when we're creating from our truth, from our source. And I think artists question even more than those who might not consider themselves artists (but could be if they wanted). I think it's in our nature to look at life differently. :)

well said, I think that's really true...it's inherent to question as a creative!

What a lovely post - I think a lot about these things too. I often think of art as a vocation, rather than a career. There are so many struggles to being an artist that I think you must really love it in order for it to be sustainable. Love hearing about your journey and that you are finding balance and joy in what you make. :)

Oh my so true....there really are so many struggles that it needs to be a necessity to create otherwise it may not be worth the challenges!

I can't wait to sit down and read this post properly but for now I'm saying Im in the UK we have wifi of sorts and are out and about house hunting. We shall touch base when I get settled. I do think of you on the daily and of our eventual art paths crossing :) Now get to work ;)

so glad you made it, I hope you find such a charming home!! and yes, I'm working lol!

It sounds much like Steemit. I do it because I enjoy it, more than just the monetary rewards.

Hello @old-guy-photos, was JUST thinking of you in these past few days and thinking that I needed to reach out to say hello and here you are!
Yes I agree, steemit definitely has be an enjoyable engaging experience...it's takes so much time that if it wasn't none of us would stay ;-0

I really felt a deep truth resonating through these words, Ruth. In this world of short attention spans and multitasking it's so great to dive into minute details of things as you do with your process of creating. So many people know their calling but don't have the courage to answer it. I'm glad you did!

thanks @ericvancewalton, I'm sure glad you answered your calling too! In fact I just unpacked the chapbooks of your poetry today.....they are treasures.

I appreciate that Ruth! I'm glad you're still enjoying the chapbooks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85