Sri Yantra, The Queen of all Yantras

in #art7 years ago

Sri Yantra tile antiqued 1.jpg

Funny how often I think that I don't really like something I made or that it's not very good or that it just doesn't work after all and then 3 months later I see it again and think "wow, this is so beautiful!". This happened today.

Fortunately I've learned to hang on to art pieces I make for at least a few months before getting rid of them even if I think they weren't successful pieces because I have a tendency to be a ruthless judge of my own creations. Sort of ironic given my name.

Today I was moving around a few things on a display shelf in my studio to make room for a few extra Eclipse Cups I have leftover after filling orders and in doing so pulled down this Sri Yantra. When I held it, the subtle yet luminous glazes drew me in and I looked at Rob and said with surprise, "this is really a gorgeous piece". He looked at me sideways with a knowing smirk and said "yup I know, it really is". I had intended to take it down and put it in the "to get rid of" pile which is donated to artists who work with broken tile, schools or the garbage sometimes.

It is a sturdy stoneware tile of 1/2" thickness and is 9" x 9". I layered several glazes using some very thin and some thicker to make both matte and glossy surfaces as well as layers of color. It looks as if it could have been taken from an archeological dig in Turkey or India.

FullSizeRender (38).jpg

A Yantra is a type of Mandala and is a physical diagram or transcript of a particular energy. They can be used as a tool for meditation and to heal, expand consciousness, for personal growth and to bring wellness to a space. The specific geometry is powerful and ancient and has a wisdom that transcends religion or spiritual persuasion. They impact us simply by being in the same space regardless of whether or not we realize it on a conscious level.

The Sri Yantra is the most powerful of all Yantras, it awakens our innate powers of creativity, and its presence reminds us of our true nature, our true self shining bright and without the masks we use daily.

During manifestation or creation, an energy, a light, an illumination occurs. The geometry of the Sri Yantra is a transcript of this profound energetic movement, this innately feminine divine yet everyday act which occurs within us as well as in nature constantly.

In my studio when we make our mandalas, we use mantra and intention to fill each one with the energy that brings the highest good for those who experience the piece.

If you're curious to see more Sri Yantras, I have a few posts showing them as well as offering more information:
https://steemit.com/art/@natureofbeing/the-mystical-yantra-meditating-with-color-line-and-shape
https://steemit.com/art/@natureofbeing/today-in-my-studio-03
https://steemit.com/art/@natureofbeing/steam-room-mosaic-a-look-at-the-process
https://steemit.com/art/@natureofbeing/gifts-from-our-grandmothers-a-sri-yantra

If you would like to buy one of my Yantras or Mandalas, shop here. I take SBD as well!

Thank you for supporting my post and my blog, Steemit is dear to me and I really appreciate all of you and what you offer here!

FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

Your work is wonderful! It sure is refreshing how time and space provide a new perspective on things. I find it very inspiring how much thought and energy (pun intended) you put into each piece. Glad you kept this one.

thanks so much @bbrewer, really appreciate your words and that you took the time to look at this past post!

That looks amazing,like some sort of ancient artifact,would love to learn more about Sri Yantras.
Thanks for sharing.

thank you @makrotheblack, the most informative post I have on the subject is the first one I list offering more posts.

So beautiful! I had heard of Mandalas before, but never before about a Yantra. Thanks for sharing!

You're welcome!

You and I are a lot a like as we are both our own austere critics.

it's not an easy characteristic is it? I will say that now that i've accepted it, it's easier to work around it ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59249.03
ETH 2543.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37