Today In My Studio 03

in #art7 years ago

complete 2 copy.jpg

Greetings Steemians! In my last “today in my studio” post, I showed a few photos of this yantra in its early stages. Now that we have shipped it, I wanted to show the process beginning to end.

This client is my step-uncle’s wife and I like her very much. Half of the pleasure and satisfaction of making this piece was because it was for her. As a point of departure I used inspiration photos she sent me to give me an idea of the color palette and style of Sri Yantra she liked best.

The palette isn’t what I typically find myself working with and I appreciated the challenge of really having to think about color and try out a lot of options to see why certain colors worked and others didn’t.

Below is the process of this yantra start to finish including some flubs:

Drawing:
yantra drawing .jpeg

Working out the colors with a watercolor sketch and glaze chips:
yantra working out color .jpeg

Cutting from slabs of clay:
yantra cutting 03.jpeg
yantra cut .jpeg

Once bisque fired, here it is being glazed:
sri y glazing.jpeg

Unloading the glaze firing:
Sri y in kiln.jpeg

Putting the pieces together:
sri Y putting it tog.jpeg

Trying out a color and not liking it:
IMG_5949.JPG

And another try, but nope, still not right:
IMG_5963.JPG

Actually the process of putting this piece together took several weeks because of trying various colors, reglazing and remaking pieces a few times.

Finally, complete!
m seligson sri yantra sf.jpeg

Thanks so much for reading my post, following me and I always appreciate your comments and shares!

Sort:  

This is stunning, Ruth. One day I'd like to have some of this in my own house! Thanks for sharing your process with us!

thanks @ericvancewalton, it would be such a pleasure to make a yantra for you and your wife!

great job. I have my own oven for ceramics, but I'have not been using it for some months :)

thanks @paolobeneforti, it's nice to have it there for you when you're ready.

Yes, I know I can make my ceramics when I need to, and this is a great thing for creativity :)

Hi @natureofbeing!!! It turns out that I was working on a piece about mosaics and I have just posted it and included this post in it with a shout out to you.
I think your mandala is a gorgeous piece and the amount of work that goes into them is unfathomable, unless you have produced one yourself. Well done!!! :)

thanks so much! Yes mosaic is a huge amount of work yantras or otherwise but I've never found any of it to be "grunt work" and have stuck with it for close to 25 years. I don't know, something about fitting life together, myself together, the world together.

I need to research the term "yantras"... as I don't understand what makes them different from mandalas. I LOVED the yantra that you showcased. The colours work so well together. :)

Thanks! Yantras are a type of mandala, and in my very first Yantras I go more deeply in to what they are: https://steemit.com/art/@natureofbeing/the-mystical-yantra-meditating-with-color-line-and-shape

Wow! This is completely why I am so drawn to crop circles...I get the connection on the cellular and cosmic level. Fantastic! I will never look at another mosaic the same way again...Thanks for sharing this with me.

So glad to hear it and you're most welcome!

As always, such incredible work @natureofbeing! I really love seeing the process as you know :)

I can't believe you scrapped all of those tiny white border pieces in the first iteration. So much work goes into each trial! That must have been a painful decision to make. Anyway, thanks for sharing! The final madala is beautiful work of art.

you are very observant! yes scrapping the tiny white pieces was a very difficult decision because of the insane amount of work we had already put in to cutting and glazing them and honestly we did like the "beaded look" of the small cuts. Ultimately though, we landed on the the longer pieces for a cleaner and more timeless look. Honestly, it's not a profitable move to make big changes like this but we do it for peace of mind.

Wow! Amazing! Thank You for the inspiration!

you're most welcome @oceansoul13 and thank you for reading and commenting!

Have you made clay joints or you've used something else? is it glued to it's surface and if yes, with what?

Mosaic is adhered with thinset to a cementitious surface and and then grout is used to fill the spaces in between tiles.

Oh, nice, thanks!

Very nice ~.~ thank you for sharing

I love your mandalas❤️

thanks so much @reddust and for the resteem :-)))

Really a nice art piece :-)

You are very welcome :-)

Wow, que esmero en tu trabajo y quedo magnifico.

Gracias @dezconocido por los cumplidos y por leer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62847.35
ETH 2464.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64