SPIRIT OWL :The beauty of collaboration

in #art8 years ago

Artistic collaboration can be tricky and requires the right recipe of trust, respect, healthy understanding of each other’s talent, a shared vision, and confidence in one’s own creative process.

About 4 years ago fellow artist, friend, employee and soon to be lover Rob Streff and I decided that after working for 8 years on my work, we would try to make a piece together. A piece that embodied each of our aesthetics and skills towards a shared idea. Even though working together in my studio on my commissions allowed for some collaboration, this piece would be a departure from the usual dynamic with me as boss and Rob as employee.

Over time we had found ourselves talking more and more about our own work, getting together to draw outside of work and discovered that each of our creative processes came alive with the other person. We also had a lot of overlapping interests in creative explorations at the time.

All of this is fertile ground for successful collaboration. After I had what felt to be poignant experiences with two Barred Owls - one an afternoon sighting in a tree very close to me when taking a walk and the second a week later right outside my bedroom window during the night - we decided the owl would be the subject of our first piece together. We wanted to make a piece about the moment when you have an encounter with a very wild thing - an unexpected and very raw alive moment in which all your senses come alive to the present. You face each other recognizing each other’s power and place in this world. It can be a profound experience that most of us remember for a lifetime. So we gave it a try.

We went to visit our local Audubon Society where they have a rescued Great Horned Owl named Julio among many other amazing raptors and birds like a Kestrel Hawk, a Raven, and more. Sometimes they’ll let you handle the birds if the mood is right.

Our process felt completely seamless and natural. I’ll note that our subsequent collaborations have also been “right” but sometimes have more tension and involve more working out of ideas where as this one just happened effortlessly.

We formulated a loose composition and I wanted to start making the owl in clay since in this situation I wanted to feel my way through making it and in this case drawing would have detracted from my process.

Rob and I have different and complementary strengths - for instance Rob loves carving and I specifically don’t whereas I have what seems at this point to be an innate understanding of how to paint with glaze even though the color doesn’t reveal until after the second firing and he finds it too mysterious and has a hard time predicting outcomes.

I made the owl pose and feathers while he worked on carving the face. We checked in with each other constantly at each juncture - “do you like this?” “I”m thinking of trying xy and z, what do you think?” Once we finished the owl itself, Rob cut the mosaic background and I began working out the glazing.

We took it one step at a time and made decisions as we went along. Here is our progression:

With glazing, what you see IS NOT what you get!!

For the area around the owl we wanted an atmospheric night sky with a lot of color and depth within the glaze so I layered many different colors to create this mottled look.

The whole process happened over the course of about 3 months since we worked on it outside of our “jobs” in my studio.

Good collaboration is like alchemy - taking two differing elements with equal strength to make something greater than the sum of the parts. It may sound cliche but some cliches are true and in my experience this one is as true as gold!

Here are the official details and description we use for this piece:
SPIRIT OWL
Made in collaboration with Rob Streff
17” x 26” x 1-1/4”
Free hanging art (framed to hang on the wall)
2013

Sprit Owl is a sculptural ceramic piece depicting an unexpected and sacred encounter, one that hints at the flash of insight when we remember that what is within another being is the same as what is within us and for an instant witness the raw magnificence and interconnection of life.

Sort:  

Thank you for such an inspiring sharing, great pictures and explanations too. Namaste :)

"fellow artist, friend, employee and soon to be lover"

I giggled a bit. Us artsy folk make great (or terrible) lovers I'm told!

hahaha, yes! It certainly can go either way, and often there are lots of illusions or rather delusions! We are still going strong after 4 years but sharing all aspects of life definitely has its challenges...we've developed much better boundaries for sure.

That is gorgeous. Your model is a Barred Owl, which are especially haunting because they do not have the yellow or orange iris of other owls. Their eyes are black black black.
We have four of these (a mated pair and their two owl-lets, living in the Bog Garden here in Greensboro, NC, hunting baby ducks and turtles. They are surprisingly mellow about being observed and having their pictures taken.
http://www.greensboro.com/multimedia/bog-garden-barred-owls-draw-a-steady-crowd-in-greensboro/article_482e6f8a-dcbd-5e49-a696-4140257aa2b6.html

Lucky you that you are able to observe them regularly! They are pretty amazing, I agree and I didn't know that they have a naturally mellow nature.

I don't imagine that they ALL do, just these particular ones. But maybe ... I haven't met them all. What do I know?

@natureofbeing Very beautiful art! That "Spirit Owl" really spooks me :P.

it DOES kind of look right through you so I can see why one could feel that way!

That is absolutely gorgeous! Amazing job!

This is great! I love owls and I thought this was awesome. I almost like it even more when its all gray only.

thanks, yes I know what you mean about they gray - the texture and shadows really show!

What a magnificent story and process. The result is amazing. Your soulfulness and talent comes through so beautifully in your work. Deeply moving work!!!

How interesting. You've made the photographs of all the intermediate steps of your work as if you knew before your ideas eventuated into a final design that you will write an article about it. How did this happen?
Did you agree among yourself to collect the materials for an article before the work was done or taking pictures is just a natural part of the development process and your decision to write and an article was post factum?

That's a good question and actually I often wish I had more photos of my process. I now take photos more regularly but up until a year ago I didn't. With this piece we took so many photos because each step was exciting and we wanted to see it come together. The photos were for us to enjoy but they are very useful in showing the process now!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61