News From My Studio, Revisions and Beginning to Cut the Pool House Mosaic

in #art7 years ago

Hello and greetings from my ceramics studio!

Last November I began a large mosaic mural for a pool house here in Portland Oregon. This pool house is next to the Mermaid Pool Mosaic we made in 2016. This is a really fun and brief quicktime video of the installation of this detailed and huge mosaic in the bottom of the client's pool.

HT Pool from Ruth Greenberg on Vimeo.

In this photo of the Pool House under construction, the Mermaid mosaic is put together on the floor so the installers can take sections easily into the pool area as they installed it. If you look at the back wall, behind the tile saw, the area between the windows will be the home for the Pool House Mosaic once I've made it.

out of the box sf.JPG

In my last post about this project, the size of the space where the mosaic will go was changed from 84" x 72" to 98-7/8" x 71-7/8" and @greyhawk and I enlarged the drawing or rather the paper itself.

You can see the open space in the center and the thin strip at the very bottom:
P1000688.JPG

Last week I drew in the blank areas and reworked the drawing here and there to make it cohesive. I filled in foliage and plants as needed in the foreground as well as ocean, sky and a few mountains.

And as per the client and her designer’s request, I’ve added tons more shells, crabs, a whale, some Hmu Hmu fish, and enlarged the sea turtles.

additional greenery, shells, crabs, whale.JPG

It’s interesting because at every step they kept saying “more” and “bigger” objects like crabs, shells, and can't I make the fish bigger and what about adding one more and what about the shells, how about making them bigger? And with each question my heart would sink a little more, how could I integrate the requests but still make a piece that I feel good about?

This is one of those times that I begin to wonder whether I'm the right artist for the job. Doubt drains the joy right out of the work and I feel more and more dread. I wonder if someone else could make these additions the client and designer are asking for and it not look ridiculous, because I certainly couldn't and all I could see is how this piece would be a disaster! But this is exactly when I need to gather my confidence and speak up for my own vision instead of sinking.

This time that's exactly what I did. I found a diplomatic way to explain how I'd experimented quite a bit with scale as I was trying to accommodate their requests and had found what worked and what didn't. The thing is, even though we’d thrown realistic perspective and proportion out the window with this piece, somehow the spacial composition still has to make sense. Things still have to relate to each other to some degree and draw the eye around the shapes and colors to good effect. I also reminded them of the original vision and that we all had wanted a timeless quality to the aesthetic of the mosaic and how I was working to create this. For example, they had wanted a whale tail sticking up out of the water and my solution was to create a leaping whale to prevent this piece from becoming cliche or a caricature.

I'm not sure they "saw" what I was saying, but they believed me and gave me the go ahead without further adjustments which was a relief.

IMG-0094.JPG

So on Monday I rolled some slabs of wet clay - I'm using white earthenware for this project- let them sit overnight to stiffen, and then yesterday I used the slabs to start cutting the mosaic!

I drew a section of the mosaic on to the clay and using a scalpel, I cut out the shapes of the tiles, in this case, foliage from the lower left hand corner of the drawing.
IMG-0095.JPG

IMG-0097.JPG

This is one of my favorite parts of the process and I had a mini celebration while I cut the first few sections.

Much more about the project will be shown in coming posts. This project is a giant undertaking so you'll see plenty of each stage along the way. Thank you for your interest in my work and for supporting my blog, it makes all the difference!

FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! This is what you do? Amazing! You are right, if the client wants you to put your name on it, they need to respect the semblance of perspective you want to respect to have harmonious proportions. No one created a great piece of Art Deco by throwing the golden rule out the window. Good for you for speaking up diplomatically, it is the harsh reality that rich costumers have to be educated a fair bit.

Thank you @edouard yes it is my job and has been for a few decades. Amazing that still after all these years I have a hard time asserting my own artistic vision with commissions, thanks for your encouragement

You make it look easy!

This whole process is fascinating, and very impressive indeed. All the parts that have to go into the final, huge installation kind of boggles the mind. You have a lot of talent, that's for sure.

And I can only imagine how frustrating it would be to have all the outside 'tinkering' coming at you, particularly once it's moving forward. Which I suppose is good, in one respect. They love what you are doing, and want it to keep getting larger and more involved. Beats the opposite scenario.

Nice you can use your expertise and well-honed people skills to convince them otherwise. After all, it is your art as well as their pool. Great to be able to convince them to stick to your thoughts, since you ARE the artist. And truly know more about perspective and final result than most everyone involved.

Seeing it at scale is kind of awe-inspiring. I saw your original drawings in previous post(s), and thought they were pretty incredible at such scale. But seeing the transfer to the final area of life is really fascinating and fun. And it still looks like it should, when laid down! Imagine that ( :
(You can tell I'm not much of an artist..)
I look forward to following to the end result. Maybe you can bring a snorkel and mask and take some downward snaps from inside the pool when all done. Wouldn't that be fun...

Such a delightful comment dripping with insight @ddschteinn, sorry it took me so long to respond!!
The client has to live with the piece and are forking out no small amount of money so I feel a huge responsibility to make something awesome for them. Then get so distraught imagining it turning out terribly due to poor decisions on their part and poor communication/diplomacy on mine. Thankfully this time it's now moving forward in a good way with all parties satisfied.

It was so great to meet you last Saturday, thanks so much for taking a look at my work and I will do my best get in that pool with a snorkel and a waterproof camera. Maybe if I just show in up in my swimsuit to one of our meetings they'll have to let me!

The process you go through is fascinating. So much work to get it perfect. Tough to balance wants of the client vs the art.

Thanks @jfolkmann and yes indeed tough balance some days! Thanks for your support!

Beautiful work! Well done for sticking to your guns in this situation - I think artistic integrity is hugely important, and ultimately will lead to more respectful clients that are attracted to the authenticity of your work - the kind of clients that will keep you enjoying your work :)

I couldn't have possibly said it better myself, whew, love how you worded this :-))) thank you!

"But this is exactly when I need to gather my confidence and speak up for my own vision instead of sinking."

This is exactly what I what I was going to suggest but it looks like you done just fine on your own! I've had to do this a number of times being in a supervisory position and just in life in general. This is where tact, common sense and good judgement comes in to play.

Well done! I always look forward to seeing your work as I am envious of your talent. I actually tried to sell my sister on lining her fireplace with your special tiles and designs. It was hard to do over the phone, even with sending her pictures of your work. I will see her this coming Sunday and work on her some more;)

Oh just FYI, when I clicked on the link for how to order (on the other post you published), it's giving me an error and won't let me access anything. I'm not sure if the problem is on my end or what but I thought that I would at least mention it to you.

Hi @bluelightbandit, thanks for your always wonderful comments and thoughts! thanks for trying to sell my work to your sister, show her the website for my other tile work too, it sometimes helps someone to understand they are working with an artist www.rfgtile.com.

Regarding the www.fireboxtile.com site, I think you must have been looking when I was changing my inventory yesterday!! I just looked and it seems to be working ok but if you still have trouble I'll call my web pro and have him take a look.

Be well and again, great to see your comment in my feed

You're more than welcome and as soon as I see my mother-in-law, I will show her your work as well. They both have very nice houses with exquisite taste so your artwork is very fitting for their homes.

I just went back and checked the link that I mentioned had issues and all is good now, I was able to navigate through the site just fine.

I told you a fib the other day when I said that I would see my sister this Sunday. It will actually be next Sunday when we get together but nevertheless, I will definitely be bragging on your artwork to her :)

It is a wonderful job, it is the result of a work that is done with passion. I had never seen how this work was done in detail, thank you for giving me a vision of this ;)

A very beautiful and impressive project, someties it can be difficult to allow others a free-reign on crestive projects, looks like your lcients arei n safe hands.

thank you :-)))

Wow, amazing work. I feel your pain so much about the clients and their ideas. That is the reason I quit the idea of being a graphic designer, even though it is what I graduated. Can imagine the struggle when it comes to something so massive and complicated. Fingers crosses they listen to your professional advice and you hold on to inspiration :)

Thanks @gabchik, yes graphic designers have to navigate this sort of thing all the time don't they!!! And by the way, they did listen :-) and did so with appreciation

This is so so beautiful.
And the way you made a video of the fixing.
You're really talented Ruth, those drawings are a work of pure art.

WoW is an extraordinary work! I admire you.

thank you fellow artist @artizm!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79