From My Studio, a Mosaic Moon Mandala and Poem

in #art7 years ago

**IMG_7376 sf.jpeg

Moon

The Lakota call her Grandmother
When I heard that I thought, yes me too
the reverence, affection, familiarity and respect of a grandmother
just right

When I go outside at night I look around for her face
Where are you oh there you are hello grandmother!

As she pulls at the blood and water in my body each day
I know her as intimately as my own family as the inside of my womb
As the inside of my mother’s womb

I’m quieted into a smiling reverence when I see her in thumbnail form
And when I was in Egypt she hung the thumbnail like a cup facing up
I’d never imagined the moon in Egypt and it was so beautiful I couldn’t say a word

Each phase brings me out and in with it, from full to new, bright to dark
Lighting me up or shadowing what’s around me so I can find my way to my inner light


Enjoy your day, it not only a full moon today but also partially eclipsed. Be gentle and mindful, there's a lot of energy to wield today!

ceramic mosaic Moon Mandala, 13.5" x 13.5"
**IMG_7399 sf.jpeg

FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

That is beautiful! Never thought of her as grandmother. That is a nice thought. Luna, Artemis, Grandmother.

Looking forward to the Solar eclipse. This should be interesting.

I too am looking forward to the solar eclipse, will you be able to see it? thanks for your comment

Yes, we live right in the middle of path of totality. I will probably watch it from my back yard.

Lucky you, promises to be extraordinary!

Very lucky! I still remember my first and only total eclipse in '99 an amazing experience. Especially when all the birds stopped singing, I just imagined them sitting there thinking, what th- ???

:-)

Cryptogee

Yeah, probably threw them off a little!

Looks extremely beautiful! Great blog, keep up the good work! Gave you a follow :)

well I didn't know that people in US also call it 'Mandala'.

yes, worldwide I believe the mandala is known!

So beautiful ceramic mosaic! I perfeclty understand your thoughts about the moon, I've always fascinated by the moon! Thanks for share ^_^

I love the colors and the design, well working with the moon, being a woman and all, I love it!

thank you @reddust ;-), me too

Glad to have found you.. special post.. very beautiful thank you

That is beautiful!

Sweet Paddy - you are a person of so few words!

Such a nice poem, dedicated to the most wonderful person in the world 'Grand mother'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60531.60
ETH 2905.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33