Cutting Phase of the Dogwood Mosaic From Wet Clay

in #art7 years ago

cutting scene.JPG
hand cutting detailed mosaic from wet clay

Before christmas I posted about the drawing phase of a small project I”m currently working on of some flowering Dogwood Tree branches, birds and plants.

A brief overview is that this piece is a ceramic mosaic commission 17” tall x 14” wide for a couple here in Portland, Oregon. It will be in a hallway alcove space that is sort of the energetic center of their home and because of this they wanted it to have some of their favorite plants (Dogwood, tulip), birds (Nuthatch, Goldfinch, Chicadee)and some heart shapes to represent their love for each other and for life. The Hosta leaves in the foreground are naturally heart shaped as well as being one of their most loved plants in their garden so they were a natural choice.

nook.jpg
alcove space where the mosaic will be installed

The nature of the work flow in my ceramics studio is often stop and go for various reasons. Sometimes I’m waiting to get approval for the next step from a client, sometimes I’m waiting for something to come out of the kiln, or sometimes it’s the nature of juggling several projects at once which can cause delays to one while meeting the needs of the other but also has the advantage of allowing progress to happen.

To take a piece from a drawing into a mosaic, first I roll a slab of clay with the desired thickness, in this case 3/8”. For this project I’m using a low-fire white earthenware:

slab rolling.jpg

Once they clay slab has sat overnight to become “leather-hard”, it’s perfect for cutting. “Leather-hard” means that it’s firmed up enough to hold its shape and be handled without taking the impression of every single fingerprint yet soft enough to form, cut and make intentional impressions with.

cutting hostas.JPG
after cutting the Hosta plants, I put them on the drawing to fit them together and to keep track of them

Cutting this small piece requires some real patience with these tiny little pieces and it took about 10 hours over 3-4 days.

cut detail.JPG

mostly cut.JPG
most of the mosaic cut and "bone dry" which makes it ready for firing

firing.JPG
*in the kiln, ready for the bisque firing *

Once cut, it was left to dry out completely and was then fired to Pyrometric Cone 04 which is 1945 degrees F.

Next it’s time for glazing which usually about takes about the same amount of time as cutting although for this piece it will take a bit longer since the birds will have a lot of detailed colors. Yesterday I began glazing and I decided to do it a little at a time and fire frequently so I can see the results before moving on.

out of the bisque kiln and ready for glaze
bisqued, ready for glaze.JPG

The reason for this is that this being a small piece, every single color has to be just right and work well with everything around it. If you’re familiar with ceramics you know how variable glaze colors can be! They vary with application, with natural mineral differences batch to batch and of course depending on its location in the kiln since there is a lot of temperature difference within any firing.

Here are my first results of the Hostas and grasses:

just out of the kiln.JPG

To keep up with progress with this piece as well as the huge poolhouse mural commission in the coming weeks, please follow me and check my feed in the coming weeks!

Thank you for supporting my blog, Steemit plays an important role in funding my art projects and process!

FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

I'm so impressed with this work you do! These tiny pieces... And they turns out so beautiful when painted. This is wonderful art, I love to see it and your work process.

thank you so much @kerlund74, those tiny pieces made my eyes crossed today after 3 hours of organizing them and glazing ;-)

Absolutely stunning!!!! So intricate; the detail is amazing. Looking forward to seeing the finished product.

That is coming along nicely! You weren't kidding about all those small pieces. Don't lose track of which grass goes where. :)
I can't wait to see the finished product. It's going to look amazing I bet.

Thanks so much @doctorcrypto! and Lol, that grass took forever to organize for glazing and separate from the background so your suspicion was accurate! Have a great trip ....

Nice kiln shots- i like having a nose at other folks kilns!

I agree, I like seeing that kind of thing too. Mine is a SKUTT KM818 and I have 2 SKUTT KM 1227s as well, you?

Very cool! love to learn about the process, and the project seems to be coming along very well! I am very impressed that you cut out every little piece individually! How long does that usually take?? I can imagine forever haha

oh vey it DOES take forever when the pieces are so small like with this piece! Even though I've done this many times before it's been awhile since I've made such a small piece with such tiny tesserae and at every step I'm surprised at how long it's taking. Should finish in the next few days though, phew!!

Awesome illustrations to your process! I love seeing all the tools you use and how meticulous your work is. Those tiny tiny pieces... the last photo looks like an archeological find! The organization behind it must be crazy... do you keep track of where each piece goes or is there a bit of improv'?

Lol, no improv :-), I have a system so it's not so hard to track each piece if you're careful all the way through the process. Occasionally things get confused and it takes FOREVER to sort out and that does call for some improv. However having said that, this piece is proving to be challenging with all of those grassy pieces!

I bet! Looks gorgeous though. How long would such a piece typically take you from the moment the order is placed to the finished result?

Great art for your creativity...
Good job, success is always for you...

woooooaaaaaa.....
this is really a good job... I have no idea how to make any kind of these art... I love it

Always impressed with how skilled you are. Great work, great post! -Dan

I love mosaic art. The Dogwood Mosaic also looks beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67494.12
ETH 3222.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65