Collage: Not What I expected.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone! This is an analog (hand-cut collage) I made. I am a collage artist based in Brooklyn and I will be sharing artwork and my process.

notwhatiexpected.png

The piece is specifically about how life rarely lets us plan where we end up / land. Even if we do know, it might look completely different from what we’d imagined. Often it’s so much more interesting.

PROCESS
I collaborate with my unconscious to explore deep layers of being through collage. I artistically adventures into the infinity of my psyche, breaking the structures that externally limit my inner vastness. Through collaging, the subconscious mind finds new relationships by juxtaposing what does not usually go together. The infinite possibilities of the process suit my inner world, while liberating my experience from the boundaries of rationalism. My collages challenge reality by encouraging the dialogue between ego and what is unknown to it.

My collages encapsulate the past, present and future to defy the limits of what we perceive. I use retro material that I carefully select to hand-make collages, applying an instinctive, ‘automatic’ process of selecting and arranging. This traditional, analog approach, in conjunction with using vintage imagery, allows me to understand myself as but a construct of my past experiences. Grasping how a confined reality, agreed upon by a collective unconscious, has come to exist then leads to its artistic defiance. I challenge the result of our conditioning by setting my collages in the future. Like the unconscious, this dreamlike realm of time knows no barriers of what is possible, and therefore, frequently clashes with what we selectively perceive. I attempt to find a place where I can defy gravity and explore our planet and solar system. The visual outcome is connected to the core of our truly surreal existence. I create a more satisfying way of existing as a being of the present – a present in which I am quite capable of embracing my inner multiverse.

As the transient inner world gets collapsed into an integrated form, what emerges are dream-like realms. Those realms speak to a larger existence that embraces the expansive unconscious, and the full potential of our minds and bodies. The work encourages to express their limitless imaginations, while unabashedly tapping into our mystical, ever-changing energy.

Sort:  

Intresting and awesome! Keep flowing :D

very good articles,

Welcome to Steem, @natgirsberger!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3208 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Hi @natgirsberger. Welcome to Steemit community!!!

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64041.25
ETH 2762.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66