You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: GAZEBO 003 : Reviving Overused Architectural Forms as Public Art

in #art6 years ago

It looks pretty but doesn't actually make sense - it will not protect people inside from the rain, for instance. Maybe leaf-like covering or tiling on top would make the idea feasible, but not like it is right now.
Oh, and the seats are a must, too. Otherwise visitors would sit on the (wet from the rain) ground.

Sort:  

Thanks for the constructive criticism @nameless-berk! I appreciate any kind of response to these designs. I agree that it wouldn't function too well in heavy rain, but I think that's okay, it just depends on the specific climate of where it would be installed. For instance I live in Los Angeles, where it never rains, so it's much more important to provide protection from the sun instead of protection from rain, and I think this design would be a pretty effective source of shade. I wasn't really interested in providing seats because for me the best part about visiting a park is lying in the grass. But maybe I'll build in some seats on some future designs.

Also, I think protection from the elements is only one small part of what makes gazebos so great in public parks - the other factor is just providing a sense of enclosure in a public space. That's why even these old-school cast-iron gazebos (shown below) are still effective, even though they do absolutely nothing to protect you from the sun or rain. They designate a space for gathering even without protection from the elements.

iron-garden-gazebo-white-iron-garden-gazebo-round-metal-garden-gazebo.jpg

Anyway, thanks for your comment!

I didn't have any idea about the type of gazebo you just provided an example of. In this case, yeah, sure. But personally I see no sense in getting into a cage which doesn't provide any shelter or seats. But that's probably just me, heh

Haha that's fair. For me the aesthetics are sometimes just as important as the functionality, but I can definitely understand your thinking the above cast-iron structure is basically useless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22