Up And Away

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I was commisioned by Royal Carribbean to create this illustration for one of their onboard shows, "Up And Away". It's a blacklight puppet show, following the story of a young child and his friends visiting different worlds throughout the universe.

dcl_rccl_up-and-away_logo_02-03.jpg

I used a combination of Illustrator and Photoshop to complete this piece. I typically use Illustrator to bang out the most of the sharp-edged shapes before adding any texture or lighting. I find it's much more fast for myself that way.

I almost always start with a rough pencil sketch before moving onto anything else. Once the general idea is locked in, I move onto a black and white, tonal illustration. This establishes the different values and contrast between the different elements.

dcl_rccl_up-and-away_logo_sketch_01.jpg

dcl_rccl_up-and-away_logo_tonal.jpg

Below are some other color variations that I created. Because I got the tones out of the way, I was able to quickly create different color combinations with the gradient map tool inside Photoshop. Which one is your favorite?

dcl_rccl_up-and-away_logo_02-01.jpg

dcl_rccl_up-and-away_logo_02-02.jpg

tog_logo_steem_02.png

Thanks for reading! Follow us on Instagram here.

Sort:  

It looks great! I like the illustration and colors!

Well this is super rad!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65560.09
ETH 3467.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68