Work in progress continuingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

This is a painting in progress.

This first shot is the sketch.

The model sat and the oil sketch was done.

After the completed sketched dried the model again participated to work out first glaze.

Colors are generally chosen at this stage to use up dying tubes or off brand paints.

The primer is white gesso. How would you paint a white towel if the base is also white?

You can paint any color which will add depth and body to the future layers.

This is the same with the skin tone.

If a blue or blueish base is first applied this supports the future glazes.

I am using many colors to find the flesh tone but the base is zinc white. Lead white will also work. A transparent glaze that builds and gives the painting a body and substance that will float off from the wood.

Colors are added to fill the background.

The hair has layers applied to build the texture and height of the final hair.

If a surface is painted carefully layer by layer a suspended body of paint begins to shine layers above the grain of the wood.

Sharp and precise detail is best applied on a full bodied surface.

I do not share the practice of painting detail inside the grain or tooth of wood or canvas.

I prep a surface wirh gesso and sand the surface.

I allow the layers to absorb before the actual painting emerges.

I do not use rabbit skin glue as a first layer.

I will adopt this practice later as a trial.

I work on many pieces at once. Like colored sand in a glass.

When one glass is nearly full , its paint and execution becomes very precise.

Another painting absorbs the excess pallette as a new glass filling with sand.

This is how my studio works.

The background is getting excess color from the figure and starts to dictate the mood of piece.

It is my objective to move past this.

Although i enjoy the randomness of spent color building body and spurring ideas.

This painting goes in a direction i don't enjoy.

I start pushing my design ideas by adding the green.

The violet is a color added that pushes the work into an uncomfortable place.

It comes across as common or novice color.

When learning color I entered this treatment of color.

I see it a very common phase with artists.

After a days work working internally with the figure. I spend some time putting the background on the right track.

This is closing towards final.

Tan lines are showing and the fleshtone is approaching natural.

The inspiration for this figure is a self portrait by Egon Shiele.

The story of the painting relates to Michelangelo.

The nudity of Michelangelo's figure was covered by a separate artist who drew clothes to censor the eye level works in the Sistene Chapel.

I agree with Michelangelo.

Once you have drawn, painted so much. Clothes become silly.

You begin building your figures and dressing them like dolls. It feels stupid and a time hack.

In this piece the figure is moving up from seated.

The towel which should cover him has pulled away and is an arrow pointing towards what it was meant to "cover".

Its ironic.

The skin tone and sculpting will take many more layers. Each carving the final form.

As an artist the final stages of putting fine hairs and other details will be the most rewarding.

This is the only area in my life I exhibit patience.

Thank you,
Patrick Moran

special thanks to veryspider

p.s. this is the work updated today.
The veins are being drawn in. The blue line on the left arm will be skinned with thin layers of oil and blend in but maintain the rise a vein displays.
Painting veins has been a variety of techniques I have been working on for years.

00000_35p4h6FERBp_1200x900.jpgupdated J..jpgupdated J..jpg

Sort:  

Love your stuff, Pat <3 Amazing post, your style and colours are so uniquely you and I am happy to see that you're sticking with Steemit as a choice place to host your works <3

I know the digital frontier can be daunting, but I think it's worth while the effort to get your beautiful works out there to new audiences <3

How you painted is very unique and fresh, it is certainly quite exciting to see this picture developed bit by bit. I also commend you on the choice of the subject, I find most artists shy away from depicting men's nudity at full frontal. Well done Patrick.
                       
Congratulations for your curie vote ^_^.

I work with both genders. Guys have been less shy for the recent pictures.

Thank you for your comments.

Hello morangallery, Your work of art is fascinating. Every detail enhances and highlights the beauty of the imprecise work. The colors you used were really beautiful. I admire the excellent well worked body of your work. Perfect as you explained the whole process to us until achieving the beautiful and unique result. Really beautiful your work to admire it. Many successes in your art that stands out. Congratulations on your great work. Have a great day.

keep up the good work man
this is crazily good !!!

At first, I thought you were actually trying to paint yourself.... How wrong was I, Lol!

Its actually a nice piece, thanks for taking us the process... I wonder how its gonna look after all the touch up is done....

The model is a friend of mine. Over the year i participate in art and music festivals. People will often pose and later become friends with me.
We are working towards developing more media with the model and more of the painting time lapse.
This is developing.

That's pretty cool! Isn't it amazing how you work brings amazing friends your way?

I will love to see what you guys will come up with. I am sure its gonna be an amazing one!

The next related post will have the completed work.

Do let me know if you make that post😊

I will likely next week. Its almost done.

Howdy from Texas sir morangallery! hey this is a very unique and interesting painting. I love the way you made the suntan lines and the colors are very striking and the process you show us is very educational!

Do you always use models for your paintings?

I generally work with actual models. Mostly i make a design and paint that up. The model will pose into the shape.
This painting with J. it went directly from sketch to oil sketch.
Models bring so much authenticity to work.
It is preferreed.
However i have painted/drawn so many people i can work without a model successfully.

well you do amazing work sir morangallery, steemit is blessed to have you here!

That is absolutely kind. Thank you very much it means a great deal to me.

@morangallery Art is the best form of expression. I will be able to capture all my attention without blinking. I liked how you explained the detailed step of your work. All the details and colors you added completely caught my eye. You have great talent. I liked the colors you used. Great job. Congratulations for showing us great art. Many successes in your career as an artist and with your works of art. Have a nice day.

This post has been upvoted for free by @nanobot with 5%!
Get better upvotes by bidding on me.
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @nanobot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

Seeing the first photos and the colors I thought you were painting an Avatar :D

I don't understand how it could turn like the skin color. It is amazing!!! I have never seen such a detailed progress work of an artist painting human body so I'm really surprised to see how it works.

I like how the background turned out..

I enjoy seeing those muscles - you painted them very nicely. And the detail of your work is great! You even showed different colors on the parts that were apparently not tanned :) It is a beautiful painting :)

Thank you for sharing!

Glazing is the technique of thin layers of oil layer dried. You could paint a yellow circle. Then a thin layer of blue and you would eventually get a green circle. This is what is happening.

In painting is often dark to light or reverse.

Hi morangallery,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65