The Red-Brick Wall, acrylic on canvas, 16 x 20', by @mongoosely

in #art5 years ago

Good evening, random, STEEMIANS
Jot in the comments where you're from...

Okay, just because I truly love nature, I decided to paint a landscape from the depths of my subconscious. As you can see I began by painting a fluffy blue sky! I then painted the rocky mountains which were supposed to be architectural in nature at first, but somehow, the mountains revealed themselves as so, so I let it be.

I sprung up small trees with my paintbrush at the base of the mountains, then chucked up trees standing so high they almost touched the sky...well not really.

I highlighted the foliage in yellows and browns...just imagine the different species of insects living among the leaves and branches, not to mention birds nests and what not!

I then smeared a little titanium white as to create a path leading up behind the trees where colorful butterflies dance along the path bringing immense joy to your sight.

I must say, I had no idea or inclination how this painting was going to evolve because after creating the first bit, I was stumped.

It was like a whiny chatter began in my mind, what do I do here? What do I paint down here? I don't know what to paint...what do I paint now? I got so fed-up and frustrated that I abandoned the painting for a few days or more, then the idea of a brick wall came to mind. One/brick-wall, must have gotten my attention on my travels about town and made a mental note that this was it.

So I consulted Google images for brick walls and chose one that was multicolored and painted as you see it. Of course masking tape was used to keep the ledge of the wall straight. Where would I be without masking tape? I seriously donno!

After propping up the brick wall and adding the little bushes, another dilemma popped up!
What comes next?

A bloody sidewalk/pavement you, ninny! a cheeky voice shouted in my head.

This was the hardest part of the painting, painting the pavement/sidewalk, believe it or not.
Those slab lines have moved many times by my paintbrush, determined to get it right. Before that, I had the task of making them look like brick slabs which I think I achieved by shading and experimenting. I am certain I used Google images for slabs.

Needless to mention how the street came about. I think it's self-explanatory without a long-winded description.

Just imagine living or walking along a street like this from my imagination. You would feel as if you were walking on the outskirts of the Garden of Eden, or get a feeling of Utopia.

Hmmm, perhaps not!

Tell me what you think in the comments.

Thank you for visiting my blog and I wish you all the success with your own.

Buy prints of my art from here: 2-denise-morgan.pixels.com
Go!

FOLLOW, if you will...I have lots more art to come!
the-red-brick-wall-denise-morgan.jpg

Sort:  

A lovely painting, @mongoosely :) I really like the red brick wall, the colours and detailing are so wonderful and the way it sectionalized the canvas into two parts, as if beyond this .... there is peace forever :)

Very nice! I like the contrast between the sparse foreground (the pavement and the road), which are clean and orderly, and the nature beyond the wall, which is free and unordered by human's designs...

I also like how you talked through the post, describing your thoughts as you worked through the piece :) It is a nice and personal touch <3 A good post ! <3 <3 <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello @mongoosely, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72