Rhoda: The Birth Of A Bookworm

in #art7 years ago

Rhoda before she was Rhoda

The wire that I had picked up that day was too thick, and roping it only made it more difficult to work with, so I decided to go with a one strand wire puppet. The only added piece of wire was for the arms, which I bonded to the stem with epoxy putty, rendering that section of wire immovable. Her head and body are solid clay, with the exception of the wire armature of course. Simple balls stacked and smoothed into each other. The arms are shaped/smoothed coils with scoop shaped hands.

Rhoda Emerges

Rhoda gets a hairdo and ringlets

To make Rhoda's hair, I used red plasticine and started with a medium sized ball. I then used a pinch-pot technique to create a helmet of sorts. Once the hair fit on her head, I used flat edged shaping tool, along with the rounded stem of it to create the hair do. I am a big fan of the old 40s pin-up hairstyles, thus her hair is modeled with that style in mind. Once I got her hair on, I rolled coils of red clay to accent the body segments. Because she is a worm, Rhoda only has one leg, thus the giant boot. It both offers support and balance to the character. The skirt is rolled/shaped/smoothed to meet edges.

Something's Missing...

Rhoda gets a nose

As soon as I finished her nose and got it on her face, she really came to life. Her expression changed. Her big beautiful nose really sells the whole character and I adore her. We will be going to Michael's later to pick up some canvas and paint. She wants to paint her self portrait. Hopefully the task isn't as messy as it sounds in my head. I suppose nothing a bubble bath can't take care of. We hope to see you back later tonight for her Rhoda Paints A Portrait post!

Thanks for stopping by to check out my work.
I have had a grand time with Rhoda from idea to first trip out of the house!
All photos are mine and so is Rhoda.
x x
Mo

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @molovelly to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

and i love you, my friend <3

Thanks for attending Thursday’s Pimp Your Post Thursday @molovelly. I have written a post to share your featured post from last night. Just stopping back to let you know that you can see your [name in lights](https://steemit.com/pypt/@shadowspub/pimp-your-post-thursday-report-5-from-nov-16th-pypt) right here. (Just kidding about the lights :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44