Pascal custom engagement ring box

in #art6 years ago (edited)


You saw the previous hand-made engagement ring box based on Tangled, I posted it a few days ago here on Steemit and a few years ago on http://themodelmaker.net The previous tower model brought a lot of Disney fans to my website. People were searching for other Rapunzel themed engagement ring boxes. One person wanted the Pascal chameleon and I also wanted to make this character so I agreed to make him. I know it is not the typical box, it is rather ring holder. It can also double as a cake topper, cosplay prop or just the figurine.

I could not find any existing toy I could just cut and modify to make this ring box, so I had to start from scratch.
I sculpted it in Super Sculpey in the scale roughly 1:1 to fit on top of the hand. I started with the head. The eyes are made of plastic beads, I made them removable in case if I will decide to make them articulate in future. The basic shape was simple and quite easy to model but then I spent countless hours creating the texture of the skin punching little dots with round brass tubes in 4 sizes. I tried to make it look like one of the high quality reference photo I found online. The process was very time consuming and quite boring so I watched netflix in the background.


I was happy with the sculpt and wanted to keep it for myself so I made silicone molds in case if I would like to make another version and save time on texturing again. It adds few days to production, all the mold making but I often regret if I don't do that like I did with Hellboy ring box I showed you here a few months ago.

The first cast went very well . There was some work in cleaning it and filling few holes caused by air bubble caught in the details and additional sculpting on the joints of the parts. The painting is great fun because the texture helps to bring it to life using 2 of my favorite painting techniques: dry brushing and washes.
If you don't know it, here is the process. You take an old brush, dip it in the paint. Then clean it on a piece of paper until it is almost dry. Now brush the surface, it will leave the paint only on the top of the details. It is great for highlights on the texture like here. Washes are the opposite. You dilute the paint with water and paint will flow inside the grooves. As you can see this figure have lots of bumps and groves and mixing this 2 techniques allow me to paint it with a soft gradient between few shades of green and yellow. More details about this Pascal personalized engagement ring box can be seen here : https://themodelmaker.net/rapunzels-pascal-engagement-ring-holder/
I hope you enjoyed the short description of this model. I wish I had more photos of the process to share it with you, but I was very bad in documenting my projects. I am planning to improve it. I am currently working on a figure exclusive for Steemit and crypto community. I take photos of each step and will release it in next few days only on Steemit. What would you say about the giveaway? If you want to own something made by me, watch this space. The cool things are coming :) Thank you for all the upvotes on my previous posts, it gave me a huge boost of confidence, that maybe one day, I will be able to make figures and write about it full time! The excitement is as big as when I first started sculpting and YOU contributed to that. Thank you!

Sort:  

Damn, when I read you did this in Sculpey my first thought was of the texture. That's time consuming and amazingly done! Had to be hard not printing and dinging it up too much as you worked your way around the model, as I imagine smoothing it out with an alcohol brush would ruin some the texture detail. And the paint job is fantastic as well. Very impressive.

Great thinking to make a mold. It can certainly add some additional considerations when sculpting a piece, like one I'm working on currently. This will be my first experience with molding, but it looks simple enough.

Thanks for sharing one of your original sculpts. Excellent work.

Yes, it was very easy to push too far. I did it in few places but fixed in few places. As far as i remember i did use some alcohol to smooth it with very soft brush.
Breaking model to pieces easy to mold is adding to time i need to spend. This one have some flaws i need to correct when assembling the model. It could not work as a kit but it was one more lesson for me.
I hope to see some photos of your chess set soon.

This is just gorgeous! <3 Very wonderful idea (:
I wish my bf would propose to me using this box...

Yes, some of them are quite creative when it comes to proposal :) I am always happy I can assist and develop the idea while learning in the process.

It's very beautiful! I love it!.. Great painting techniques, Congratulations!!!

Thanks, I am happy you like it. It was fun to make, except the texturing part. This was boring :)

Aaahh this is so cool!

You said texturing was boring, but maybe it was also like a huge patience therapy? Sorry, Just trying to see the glass half filled lol

I would love to own one of your models, please keep the wonderful work up! <3

Thank you. You can take part in my giveway on Saturday. The texturing was boring but when I do things like that I listen to TED lectures or tv shows or music. It sometimes is like meditation.

Cool! You're such a genius @mitchhunter

Thanks. I wish I was. I am just patient :)

Really great piece of work @mitchhunter! I will definitely be watching for that giveaway.

Thanks! Cool, I am now painting it. I wanted to finish it by tomorrow but it required more sanding. I will write the post on Saturday.

Omg, I love it. I would definitely say yes... although, I might not even notice the ring for the totally adorable Chamelion. Awesome work! I can’t say enough good things about it.

hehe, you would be surprised how many people told me that :) It is very encouraging, happy to hear you like it. If you want one of my toys, you can take part in my giveaway in other post.

oh my god it's so adorable I can't even deal with it! ♡ ♡

WOW! This sculpture is incredibly accurate and beautiful!!! And the idea is so adorable, there's no way sanyone could ever say no if someone presented them that.
Oh god the incredible amount of work that went into this is staggering to me. The detail in the texture of the skin! oh my god I would have lost patience a quarter of the way in. wow.

Your work is incredible. upvote and instant follow. ♡

OMG I just realized, that´s you behind the "themodelmaker.net" Site! :D
I love this site, and your works! Are you eventually planning to do some tutorials? Would love to see some :3
And would love to own something made by you! ;)
Keep up your good work! :D

So you stumbled on my little website before? Happy to hear you like it. Yes, i will be doing tutorials. Most of the work I did before was to build my skills so the process was always messy. I also never felt qualified enough to teach others when I am student myself :) i will be soon moving to new place and I want to arange it so I can attach camera in few places and film when sculpting or painting.

Great, looking forward to that! :D

OH my gosh, how precious! You are so talented.

Thank you. It is just another way to practice and get better, but I am not yet there where I would like to be with my sculptures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50