Hand painted MacGyver tribute figurine

in #art7 years ago


Here is the tribute to my favorite hero from my childhood - MacGyver played by Richard Dean Anderson. I was crazy about this show, it probably contributed to turn me into a Maker in some funny ways. I didn't know back then that most of his tricks would not work in real life, but it gave me the belief, that there is a solution to every problem and never give up. I still like to open every device and often use what I find around to fix stuff. I had all episodes recorded on VHS tapes and watched each one many times with my friend from the apartment below. We built things from books about DIY and made experiments with chemicals we found in the kitchen. The access to information was limited to few books we could find in library, but we were creative. I often wonder, what would it be like with modern internet back then? Would I be much better in my craft or with information overload, I would end as just a just youtube watcher or social media addict?


Here you will find a whole library of my creations at http://themodelmaker.net

Sort:  

I always loved Macgyver aswell and earned it as a nickname. I was going to ask about the why you didnt make a reference to the swiss army knife then i saw your clever logo. Still wear my Victorinox to this day.

From what I see it is common role model in makers community :) always using his approach when building, what sometimes is bad practice when I fix my drones with sticky tape and wonder why they fall of the sky :)
I have my Victorinox for 15 years now, but it did not survive home conditions. We opened the cans with it and now its sticky inside and can't open any blade anymore :)

Its a bit of a design flaw with the swiss army knife that you need a tool to open it. Graphite helps to lube to blades. My father thought me that, He was the original Macgyver.

You just use the graphite from the pencil or some kind of oil with graphite in it. I saw somebody using graphite from pencil to lube the lock and it worked.

Haha. Great job. Man, I love MacGyver. I remember now that I'm missing season 6 on dvd - I've got the rest, including the 2 movies. Looking forward til the day I can start showing it to my kids... which I probably can about now, the eldest being 7 and 8. After all it's a "clean" show with not much violence or scary stuff happening.
You are really talented. Keep it up!

Thanks. Yes, you can show them they will enjoy it at this age. Maybe it is better for them to have a hero without superpowers caused by a radioactive incident or batman's or ironman's money. You just need to be smart, honest and have the courage and belief in your knowledge.

very well said! Maybe I'll show them an episode tonight :)

Cool Bro, but why the horns?

Thanks. Its more like rabbit ears. It is painted on so called platform toy. You buy it blank and paint on it. This particular model is called dunny and it had ears.I could cut them, but they have base of collectors who enjoy them.

Interesting... Your job os really good, but the ears looks odd to my taste.

But keep on doing this job. I would buy one If i hadnt to pay huge international shipment fees.

Thats ok. It is sold already. I must some day paint him on Munny, that is the blank toy without ears and it would work with its shapes much better.

Oh lol, this one would be right for my aunt. She has the biggest MacGyver fanpage in Germany. :D

No way! I wish I could speak German then :) I must watch the whole thing again and see how it aged.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Very cool story, thanks for sharing

Thanks for checking.

You are a magician, definetly. If you can,check my toys :D. It would be a pleasure read your comments about. XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72