George Lucas custom made figure, art toy

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Here is my another Star Wars related custom toy. This time it is the man who created it, George Lucas himself. I made this figurine as my entry to an annual competition organized by Kidrobot, producers of my favorite vinyl blank toys Munny, Dunny and few other designs. This particular is using Bub, now hard to get model because it was out of production a while ago. I also used the head of Munny to create the base of Tie Fighter with styrene wings made from scratch.
The whole piece was inspired by the sale of Lucasfilm empire to Disney in 2012 for 4 billion dollars what now is considered a great bargain. It was seen as George is going to the dark side then, that's why I made him ride the Tie fighter with a smile and pile of cash lying around.

I posted it in the contest in 2013 and I was surprised to win first place in “Best Pop Culture” category and got the second position in the whole contest “Best in Show”. That was big deal, with more than 1000 entries from the whole world. I got a nice package of toys to customize and chance to win a trip to New York. It was a lottery and I saw my name there in the pot, but was not selected :( Anyways even without that, I liked this piece. Here are the other winning entries:
https://blog.kidrobot.com/the-2013-munnymunth-winners-runner-ups-and-honorable-mentions/
It was a huge boost in my confidence and interest in this form of sculpture. The previous year I was also on the podium with my Rocky The Champ below
alt-text

I was ready for next challenges and next year. Sadly they stopped organizing it and the whole scene was in a downturn like the whole economy. It is recovering now but in different form and I also moved to other projects, more custom made from scratch or engagement ring boxes what you can see on http://themodelmaker.net/
If you like my posts, give me your upvotes so more people can see it. Leave me the comments if there is anything I could improve, to make your experience on Steemit more interesting. If you also do sculpture or art, you would like to show, leave the link in the comment, so I can check it and upvote. If you have Steem Power you would like to delegate, feel free to boost my account ;)
Thanks for your time for reading this. Please check soon for more updates.

Sort:  

yes do it

Thanks. Check out, there is many pieces out there on interenet, much better than mine. I guess I was in the right place in the right time on this one.

Wow, you sure have some power! 30 votes on your own comments! well done. Can you use some to push my post please ? ;)

Verry nice hand work, upvoted!

thanks, I enjoy making things so there will be more. Visit my profile for more.

Killer job and a well deserved win- Looks like georgy boy dropped a little something there ;)

Thanks. Yes, he still has some coin, he can now enjoy the ride for a while :)

haha i'm sure he's not worried in the slightest ;)

This post has received gratitude of 4.12 % from @appreciator thanks to: @mitchhunter.

Very funny @mitchhunter
★▶◀★

Thanks. Yes it is a bit. I enjoyed sculpting him a lot.

These are pretty cool! You have great talent. :D

Thanks. There will be more projects Star Wars related here, so keep an eye on my profile ;)

Fantastic ! I love the "Rocky boxer" : It is sooo close to Stalone's portrait ! Congratulations, you do a real real great job here.

Thank you. I am somehow attracted to portrait or caricatures, even if they are risky to make. It was one of my early sculpts, I now feel more confident with the clay.

well, I just drop a post on a tutorial on "portraiting". Hope you'll find the time to give me your opinion on it... see you !

This post has received a 1.76 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @mitchhunter. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

You got a 12.18% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @mitchhunter!

This post has received a 6.25 % upvote from @upmyvote thanks to: @mitchhunter. Send at least 1 SBD to @upmyvote with a post link in the memo field to promote a post! Sorry, we can't upvote comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58116.56
ETH 2361.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42