Timeless Art Nostalgia - Part 2

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steeminans. I promised you a new story for the next painting that was part of the art exhibition in Denmark, 2012.

d2.jpg

This particular one is actually unfinished, I simply couldn't continue on it, don't really know why. The element in the middle was so nicely painted and there were so many details to take care of already (face, hair etc.), that when I got to the background, all I could do was a simple warm "light", a candlelight.

Presentation 15.jpg
Pray
Oil painting. Size: 60x40 cm

Story

My mom had a middle sized wooden statue in her bedroom, so when I was at her place for a visit, I immediately got inspired from it. Was very much into the obscure style at that time, and that statue seemed perfect as a subject. I don't think she still has it today, but what matters is that I captured the moment.

A year or so later, after I moved in with my boyfriend, he saw this painting and immediately hung it on the wall. His walls are empty, he doesn't like to hang anything really, that's why I was surprised when he said that this one is his favourite. I knew that in my mind, this painting is unfinished, but for him, it was perfect. One single focus in the middle, one expression, lots of space in the background.

Sketches

Within that time, I was also learning how to draw croquis, and these are some of my best sketches.

Presentation 5.jpg
my mom

Presentation 4.jpg
my mom sleeping

Conclusion

I'm looking forward to your comments, and stay tuned for the next post. If you haven't seen Part 1 yet, you can take a look here: Timeless Art Nostalgia - Part 1

Sort:  

leave it unfinished its kool

Hey @kingfish111, unfinished it's best. There are many works that I'd like to present, and if I'd do it all in one, it will be one helluva long post that no one's going to get to the end of :-D In this way you get to see one art work at a time :-)

I don`t think there is such a thing as an unfinished piece of art or music! Upvoted and Followed :)

Hey @matt2525, Yes you might be right. Although it felt really unfinished to me, to others it looked just perfect. Maybe it was just me wanting to fill all that background space with something, and because of that, I actually didn't show it at the exhibition. But now I finally got the courage to show it here, and I'm surprised one more time, that people like it! So thank you!

You are going to love it here! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Nice work! Im a painter as well and very much like to inspire people. Follow me and i will follow you.

Thank you, @errymil :) You don't have to follow me if I follow back and likewise. If you like my posts and think that they are worth checking out and using your free time on, then you're most welcome to.

Amazing Following you now :)

That oil painting really very beautiful!!

Hey @siddartha, I'm glad you like it :) Stay tuned for next works.

Thank you for sharing this.

Hey @dogfried, Thank you for liking it :) Stay tuned for next.

Very cool art....I like it :)

Hey @foxkoit, thanks! I am really surprised that you and so many other people like it, didn't expect that at all :) I can see you also have a series of posts with some of your best photographs, nice!

you are welcome :))

@mindme another beautiful piece of artwork! Wow...beautiful stuff for art exhibition! Upvote this post to support~

Follow me to see my art @secter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72