Timeless Art Nostalgia - Part 1

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians :-) Even though I am mostly doing graphic & web design and programming, I decided to show you some of the best works I had for an art exhibition in Denmark in 2012. This story will be split into parts, since there are lots of things to show you.

Presentation 23a.jpg

Let me start with the beginning

I loved drawing and painting since I was little (you probably heard that so many times before, but it's true!), but it wasn't until I was 17 that I started going to some real drawing courses, and learn the structure and theory. My favourite areas were portrait and composition. I had to sit for more than 6 hours on making a portrait, and over 5 hours to create balanced and explained compositions (mainly watercolor, charcoal and pastels). I quickly became really good, and I loved it! But then I moved to Denmark to study design, in the hopes that the first year will consist in lots of drawing classes (that's how it goes in art and design universities in Romania), but it wasn't what I thought. Anyways, I decided that instead of letting all those learning hours and my talent slip away, I could look for a gallery and motivate myself into making a set of art works. And so I did :)

I will start presenting the art works in my next posts, but until then, I'll give you a teaser:

Presentation 17.jpg
Jazz man
Oil painting. Size: 50x50 cm

This is my favourite. I got inspired from another painting, true, but the balance of colors, the strong hand holding the saxophone and the expression of the man's face is golden! I used many hours on it, mostly painting at lamp light, which was quite challenging. The room I was living in at that time wasn't really having any windows, but you know, great things happen when you learn how to use the limited resources you have.

Sketches

Now let me show you a few sketches, so you get an idea of how I work and what I've learned. Really proud of them I am :)

Presentation 23.jpg
Zeus portrait
Used almost 10 hours on it.

Presentation 24.jpg
Venus portrait
Used around 7 hours on it.

IMG_2047.jpg

IMG_2046.jpg

I was really fascinated by these 2 faces. These are the standard portraits you learn to make, before you start on a real person's portrait. A very famous and well respected Romanian sculptor accepted me as his apprentice, he gave me these 2 clay statues and guided me into how to draw them. Daylight was very important, so I had to start working at a specific time of the day, or else the whole shadow balance in the drawing was ruined.

Conclusion

Art is not as easy as you might think. It requires lots of creativity, discipline and eye for detail. See you on my next post, and I hope you enjoyed it!

Sort:  

Wow....beautiful artwork @mindme ~! Professional artist!!! Upvote your post to support your great work~

Thanks @miss.kat! I'll soon post some of my recent works, that are quite very different :)

Looking forward in seeing them @mindme ! sorry have been away for a bit....got sick with the flu and all I wanted was to rest and sleep...trying to recover. Delayed response!

Really nice work!

You captured a lot of depth in the eyes of both sketches and the expression in the jazz man's face. Gifted!

Hey @esenca, I appreciate it :) Yes, there were many contrasts. It was also very interesting to paint a man of colored skin, there's lots of shadows and details to notice :)

Nicee! You are really talented :)

Thank you, @ananuaremere :) If you follow up, I'll show some more works, even more recent ones. These are from 2012 and before.

pencil sketches very grabbing. jazz man is kool reminded me of song jazz man that was recorded by carol king listening to it as i write, thanks for reminder.

Thank you @kingfish111, I'm glad to know it brings you good memories :) I loved listening to jazz in that time when I painted him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41