Visuals for @verbal-d #1

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Visuals for @verbal-d #1

Steemit has again presented some of it’s potential in a form of collaboration. @verbal-d approached me with a proposal to make some illustrations for his novel “They Didn’t See It Beneath Them”. I gave it a read and thought it was quite fun and thrilling, action-packed adventure that would make some great drawings. I’ve been working on this first illustration over last week, starting from quick sketch and refining it to a drawing based on our discussions. I Have to say I’ve quite enjoyed working with @verbal-d on this project. What Steemit does is, that it allows me to do this for less what I would normally consider, with a little risk but hopefully it will make up for it in the end.

I hope you enjoy this first drawing as much I enjoyed making it. We used to do a lot of fishing with my dad and grandfather so this took me back to those times and I tried to pull from those experiences into the drawing. Stay tuned for more, there are big things coming.

“Aye, aye captain! Here goes nothing!” Trevor whipped his fishing rod backwards and slung shot his bait and hook forward casting out his fishing line far out into the distance, about a good 34 feet from the boat.
Gary chuckled, “Nice cast. You still have that power slingshot throw. But check this out.”
Gary cast his bait and hook line out about 29 feet from the boat in the opposite direction. Trevor turned his head to Gary slyly and said, “Not bad my brother. Take a seat and let’s allow the ocean to introduce us to some new creatures of the deep, mysterious abyss.”

That was a clip of the first chapter titled Ferocious Fishing. Check that and rest of the chapters of @verbal-d ‘s novel They Didn't See It Beneath Them here:

https://steemit.com/story/@verbal-d/they-didn-t-see-it-beneath-them-chapter-1-original-story

https://steemit.com/story/@verbal-d/my-first-novel-they-didn-t-see-it-beneath-them-all-12-chapters-original-story

Upvotes and resteems appreciated. Thanks for your support.

Here is a little gif showing some of the process

Sort:  

Seeing the process with the gif is amazing. I am also happy with our collaboration so far indeed! Thank you once again for connecting with me. You're a high quality artist and look forward to more of your masterpieces.

Thank you,.the next one is stewing in my mind already and cant wait to get drawing.

That's great to hear, since I only sent you 10 sketches for the original 10 chapters, I need to double back and come up with some quick sketch ideas for the 10 chapters I lengthened into 12. You are gonna surprise me with more greatness I know it.

You're welcome! I'm a huge fan of steemit-collaborations and this one is really outstanding.
Also the progress gif adds a real bonus, too.

yeah, there is a lot of cool stuff happening here. I just had to put that gif out after I found myself flipping the images over and over in the photo viewer. its nice to see things develop and get perspective even in your own work that you know.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.48 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69107.15
ETH 3882.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65