Midnight experiments but it's only eleven.

in #art8 years ago (edited)


Unruly, watercolor and ink., 2016

This happened today after I got from taking down my exhibition at Savonlinna. I had to stick around at the studio for a moment to gather my self after dropping my paintings off.

It took about 3 hours to get Savonlinna. I had a fairly ambitious strike plan; the bus would be there at 15.15 and the returning bus would be departing at 16.40. It was just a couple of things;take the paintings down, roll the canvases and pack em neatly in garbage bags with some tape, put some filler in the nail holes and throw some paint on the walls. But there was one thing i did not account for. Coffee. Sure I would love to have some and blabber for a bit - usually against my character. I walked with fairly good pace, fast enough to see the bus curve out of the station. So yeah, that was the last bus leaving today. I called the Oracle(I came up with a new nickname for my brother today, i'm not going to tell him though.) who would set me up for the train leaving 18.30. So i walk over to the trainstation. It seems legit at first, I've seen many of these same looking station buildings all around Finland. There was only one problem; there were just 10 meters of tracks and then nothing. Some kind of hover train? Nope, I had to backtrack to the marketplace where the real trainstation was. Just couple of benches with some cover, like a bus stop, only next to tracks. There was a machine to buy tickets from. It would be about an hour till the train would come, luckily I was not without entertainment:


It was pretty cold already and I while I nibbled on some mudflap (unheated microvave pizza) I was thinking how mr. l0k1 was doing out there. I certainly wouldn't want to stay out there for the night. The train comes and there's only one change till i get to the Intercity one that had sockets where you could charge your phone. I didn't see one near my seat but luckily I had brought my charger with 3 meter cable, which i plugged in grandiloquently to the ceiling socket above the row of seats behind me. Turns out there was a socket under the table and I would have to pretend the rest of the trip that I didn't see it. Some three hours later I arrived at Lahti, I dropped the paintings off to the studio and sat down to do some drawing. I did get some ideas there.
After a while I gathered myself and headed home. To my pleasant surprise there was another parcel from China waiting in the mail. It wasn't the micro usb-port I was expecting to fix my tablet, but pretty nice still:

WP_20161024_23_18_45_Raw7ba66.md.jpg

WP_20161024_23_19_08_Raw10603.md.jpg

The macro lens set for my phone, nice! Too bad the clamp would fall just short of the lens to align with the other one. I was pretty sure it said it would fit my model but as I look at the website it doesn't say anything about it. I can't even be mad at anyone, how lame is this. How about them first world problems?

Sort:  

I was thinking about buying one of those lenses too.
I like the painting- ( I almost deleted this bit- but I think you'll understand what I mean!!) it reminds me of a pheasant flapping furiously to get out of the way of a speeding car. It has the same energy flying out of the paint and yet beautiful colours and textures. It's really beautiful, I could look at that for hours.

Thank you kindly. It's been really hectic lately so i can definitely relate to that bird, almost time to cuckoo :D

I thought 'you can't write that' but I guessed you would understand what i meant! I sometimes see beauty in odd places, like flapping birds!! :D

There is beauty everywhere and in all kinds of chaos for me :)

And it made my day :)

Mudflap had me laughing. Cool watercolour too, I can see all sorts of things in there. Thanks for sharing @mikkolyytinen

These culinary wonders have been around the same as me, 35 years. Thank you. What do you see? Its always fun to hear

hehehe, I see a grim reaper on the left, a black eyed ghost up top right, there's some kind of basset hound not far below the ghost and I see what looks like a bunch of gecko's having an orgy with a praying mantis....... or maybe I did too much acid in the nineties hehehe.
Anyway, I could lose myself in this painting for a good long while and that's got to be a good thing right! Great work @mikkolyytinen

Haha what an awesome description! That is a good thing, thank you :)

Very cool, maybe you will be interested in my work

Appreciate the upvote, but spamming the same comment in every post may not look so good to everyone.

Really interesting work. It creates a feeling in me that I can't quite describe, which is nice - and rare.

Thank you, that is nice to hear. It is those moments that make this worth while, there is something to explore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54642.70
ETH 2317.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33