King's Dilemma

in #art5 years ago (edited)

king.png
King's Dilemma

I found my tablet pen under my bed after few weeks of not drawing anything. It's the usual story; just stuff to deal with and i tend to withdraw to myself in these circumstances. Anyway here is my new drawing I worked on over few days.

I didn't remember hearing there was such term as "King's Dilemma" before i thought of the name. It has to do with how monarchs and holding onto power while modernizing their countries. Seems quite interesting, but i don't know how it relates here, yet. Oftentimes i don't have a clear meaning of the work in my mind as i begin working on it and they seem to open slowly while working and after they are finished. Even the form is undecided in the beginning. In this case it turned into something like a bumblebee with antler-like antennae. The superficial inspiration apparently came from revisiting good old Dungeon Master expansion Chaos Strikes Back and one of the insect heroes, i only looked for a brief moment in the beginning. Now the escapist mode in my mind is creating premise for a whole new game based on visiting the lands of those creatures. The other way is trying to figure out what is going on in this picture that translates to real life and is there something to gain from those insights, which seems more vital but perhaps the subconscious works that out better. Lastly there is the even less accessable thing that happens when it is published and left for the care of the viewer. Whatever it is i hope you find this of value.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

The title and the art evoke an old book of devils. Maybe this figure is one of the kings or marquesses of hell. I love this!

OK I looked it up and what I was thinking about in specific is the old Dictionnaire Infernal with woodcuts by Louis Le Breton - this has a similar feel I think.

Thank you. Interesting drawings, i can see what you mean.

He does appear quite Royal, sitting on his throne! What a fantastic drawing. I love the details.

I love your style so much, Mikko <3 The bulging body is wonderful, wonderful .... against those tiny wings and the pose of the fellow is very nicely done.... with one tiny hand resting against its thinking face, whilst the others clutches its needle/scepter :)

You have this wonderful way with shading and forming light and textured space... the scratches are absolutely gorgeous <3

Always catching up the details, thank you so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77