Bring Ahe'ey to Life Final entry "Warpaint"

in #art8 years ago (edited)

(Ah I'm late as alway winners were announced earlier today, didn't catch the post somehow
)
Here is my final entry to Jamie Le Fays Bring Ahe'ey to Life contest. I had some hesitations about coloring but the challenge was to bringing it to Life so i think it needed that little push although I was really fond of the feel of old illustrations from the black and white drawing. I could go on touching it up and changing little bits for hours and hours, but I think it is time to leave it here.

Initially i thought I'd make the whole thing with windows paint, but decided to take the coloring phase to photoshop as mixing colors in paint can be quite tedious. I tried not to change much of the line art though i did a little bit of blurring for depth perspective, but tried to do most of the illusion with color. Also the color was important for the contrast in the atmosphere of the scene. The idyllic woods and life against the violence and death.

Few sources of inspirations for working came from association, besides the novel itself . The Dragonlance and Forgotten Realms novels were mentioned, but also there came a strange reminiscient of the Robin Hood TV series from 80s, don't remember much of it to be honest or from the movie called Knightriders also from around that time - (not the David Hasselhof series). Just weird sort of flashbacks of the atmosphere, the armors and woods that i drew from. Most of the time i don't listen to music while working but here i put on some soundtracks from Flesh and Blood and Red Sonja - in which the armor weren't so practical. just wanted some fantasy themes in my head. I imagined Sky's armor here is pretty much just leather and cloth; something you could wear while training in the woods jumping around.

The scene is from chapter 9
https://steemit.com/writing/@jamielefay/ahe-ey-alone-an-original-novel-part-9

Though it was a action scene, it was the emotion behind here that was most interesting. I did not fully understand the gesture in the scene at first. But as I begun working on it I found the relation with her and my own memories of times where I'd been in a position to think fast and make an appearance, and the rush of strength and feelings after it. Probably i could not completely understand what it would be like in her situation but i did try my best to imagine.

There you go @jamielefay, thank you for the opportunity. It's been great fun! I'd like to wish good luck for other contestants.
Everyone let me know how you like it and leave a comment below.
Resteem would be appreciated :)

Check out the previous phases:

https://steemit.com/art/@mikkolyytinen/bring-aheey-to-life-submission-warpaint-session-1
https://steemit.com/art/@mikkolyytinen/bring-ahe-ey-to-life-submission-warpaint-session-2
https://steemit.com/art/@mikkolyytinen/bring-ahe-ey-to-life-submission-warpaint-session-3

#bringaheeytolife

Follow me
https://steemit.com/@mikkolyytinen

Sort:  

Good luck in the contest.

Yeah looks great!!! Very intriguing and mysterious!! :-O

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64