Nebulas

in #art4 years ago

Nebula_04 (0-00-00-00).png

Creating space nebulas was one of the main drivers behind me wanting to study volumes more. I had a bit of a breakthrough today that led to some pretty sweet results.

Nebula_02 (0-00-00-00).png

The main issue I was having was getting the shape. If I'm using a particle system I can control the particles directly will all sorts of noise and force modifiers, but I couldn't do that with these volumes. I could emit them from a defined emitter, then a fluid sim happens based on some physical parameters like gravity or buoyancy. The key was that I could emit a force from another piece of geometry.

The breakthrough was realizing I could position geometry with particles then indirectly affect the fluid sim with particle dynamics.

Screenshot_1.png

So in the above image I have these particles which are displayed as arrows and their movement is being driven by a few turbulence fields. I then instanced a plane onto each particle so that it was aligned with the particle direction. I then made each one of those planes emit a force that moved the fluid, that way I could control the fluid with the particle fields. Once I figured that out, I can manipulate the fluid pretty much however I want.

Nebula_01 (0-00-00-00).png

All the images I created are actually the same fluid sim, but just from different angles or different parts of the simulation.

Nebula_03 (0-00-00-00).png

I added the background stars and a few other bells and whistles in post. Hope you all like! I'm one step closer to creating a grand space opera :p

Sort:  

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Ooh wow they’re pretty, gonna make some wallpapers out of those? 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

That looks amazing. It should be on Star Trek or some other space show. You are truly developing your talent and skills.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75