My amateur carpentry

in #art6 years ago

About 2 years ago I was introduced to the very satisfying world of wood working and carpentry, and ever since I have been making what I can in my spare time. I am currently still in the design faze of a steampunk wireless speaker and charging station which I will be posting my progress of photos and videos in due course........for now here are a few of my own productions in pictures................


Pascal door before.jpg


This was the first door I made from pine tongue and groove which a friend wanted made to block a passage way on the side of his garage from prying eyes directly into his property. The dark inner was stained using a mixture of dark oak and imbuia (his request) and I sealed everything up with an exterior UV varnish. Also as requested the raw bolts were added just for effect. Apologies for the poor picture quality.


Pascal laundry door.jpg____________________________________
Again for the same friend, he tasked me with making pictures for each door leading into the garage, apartment and laundry. I gave him a vast selection of pictures to choose from and here is the result. I burnt all of these pictures into the wood using a cheap soldering iron and various tip shapes and sizes then slapped on a "rustic" frame to each one. As far as I know this art form of burning images onto wood is known as pyrography, but correct me if I am mistaken.
This is an antique clothes press.


Pascal door flat.jpg


My friend is French so hence the Rooster for the apartment entrance.


Pascal door garage.jpg


Lastly on the garage door is a classic car, Morgan I think?

Sort:  

Great work! As for some advice/constructive criticism....Have you looked into way of tightening up your Miters a little bit. There are a few adjustments you could make or even jigs that you can make/use for repetitive cuts that will tighten those up and make all the difference in the world! They still look really good, I just feel that we can always find ways to improve. Have a great day!

Thanks for the advice Zsteem9. Next time if I am making anything similar I will be sure to make a jig to tighten up those Miters. Also anything which helps to make a project easier is a win for me!

@zsteem have you given thought to joining our group on Discord? Sounds like you are a woodworking enthusiast and the more the merrier...... follow this link and join us for great content, weekly contests, and workshops coming up. It's just getting off the ground but is starting strong..... Thanks .....https://discord.gg/hATGYYS

What exactly is discord?

Discord is a proprietary freeware VoIP application designed for gaming communities. Discord runs on Windows, macOS, Android, iOS, Linux, and in a web browser. As of December 2017, there were about 87 million unique users of the software

It is like a chat room with multiple channels for various interests. follow the link given and check it out.....

Looks like you have a great start into this woodworking world. These examples are great....... keep up the good work and we will see you on the discord channel.....

Thank you for the positive feedback. I am looking forward to contributing more and am always interested in the work that others produce.

Great work, I wish I could build/make something like that, Great post

Thanks for the positive response! Next time I make something I will produce a step by step process so that you can see how its made and then try it for yourself. cheers!

Good work and excellent results considering you only used a soldering iron.
We have started a woodworking community here on steemit and would welcome you. We have a discord channel, link here: Woodworking on Steem Discord Channel And a weekly woodworking post competition ,
you can read the post here

Thanks,
@jist

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators

woodlogo2.png

Thanks for the resteem and your seal of approval

The wood burning is something I've never tried before. I like the idea of the pictures representing what the room is! I have a soldering pencil, maybe I should give it a try soon!

I used to have a soldering pencil for running repairs on my racing drone but that shorted out due to my own fault by arching the carbon frame with the brand new flight controller and shocking myself in the process. That's what happens when you lose concentration at 2am in the morning.

Briliant work.. The same hobbies brother

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41