Today I Needed A Rest!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

I know I usually post some artwork that I have drawn, But today I needed to give my poor hand a rest. I went from drawing one or two portraits a day to drawing several times a day since joining steemit. I love showing people my artwork and love hearing people's thoughts about it . This is why I love steemit so much because I can freely express myself and able to explain how I came up with my creation. I don't feel like I'm being judged I feel like I'm being appreciated for my work even if it's not something people go for . People ask me a lot what type of drawings do you do I have no certain preference. I let my feelings guide me what or however, I'm feeling that day goes into my artwork whatever it may be . When I draw a character I'm expressing my feelings, my memories as well like my drawing of "Hocus Pocus" In that moment I was feeling like a kid again drawing my favorite Halloween movie as a child. remembering moments of my childhood laying on my bed with my pumpkin bucket full of candy watching this movie.

Hocus Pocus
Pencil

My Portrait Of Ash. Remembering staying all night with my cousin I was about 9 years old and watching this movie for the first time. I thought it was awesome! My mom didn't let me watch movies like this at that age but my cousin didn't know that. So after watching this movie I wanted to watch it all the time my mother had the Vhs so I would sneak and watch It and yes, She would catch me actually, She would catch me every time I tried. Eventually, she just let me watch it and seen it did not scare me. That's when I became obsessed with horror movies.

Ash
Pencil

Also My portrait of Elvira. Remembering the late nights with the lights out watching this giddy high-spirited woman show creepy but very cheesy horror movies and my mom begging me to turn the tv off and go to bed. :)

Elvira
Charcoal

I like to express anything that is on my mind how it makes me feel it all goes into my artwork like my drawing of "Dark Soul" this drawing was created from a nightmare I had. Dreaming I was in an old dark house looking around seeing nothing but rotting wood around me and the smell of dampness, yes, I actually smelled that in my dream . As I was walking up the stairs I got to the third step I looked down and I saw this woman who had dark eyes pale white skin so pale you could see dark veins covering her body. I spoke out and said, " who are you ?" She said nothing. I looked up the stairs wondering if I should keep going as I turned around to look at the woman again she was coming at me. Fast with her hands out going to grab me and then I woke up. That dream honestly messed with my head a little I had to put it on paper.

Dark Soul
Prisma colored pencils, charcoal

I like taking photo's to make memories but my heart belongs to drawing my memories seem alive to me . I can look at my drawing's and see the life and the memories flowing through it. It always brings a smile to my face. Like "Butterfly". This is a beautiful memory for me it actually brings tears to my eyes. This drawing is a memory I have of my daughter and me on a warm spring day around my mother's flower garden. There were many butterflies around the flower's which got my daughters attention she was little about five years old. We sat down next to the flower and this butterfly landed in my hand and just sat there moving its wings slowly. My daughter was wide-eyed and amazed with this butterfly. I can still hear her little voice saying " I love it mommy It's beautiful." These are the best memories what better way to capture it is through art.
Butterfly
pencil

Each work of art I make is a piece of me I'm sharing with the world. I hope you like my work please feel free to comment,like and follow. You can also follow me on my facebook page https://www.facebook.com/michelleh1982/
and my website http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/michelle-cornett.html?tab=artwork
I'll have some new artwork up this week. Have a great night! :)

Sort:  

Awesome work, I got to see Elvira in person a couple times the first time she was only as Cassandra, and then this last year, She was in Elvira mode. She is such a awesome lady. Much shorter then I ever imagined. ;) I will post my images from a few years ago sometime soon.

I would love to see the images. I love her and I'm so jealous you got to see her in person.

I was so nervous when she was in Elvira mode, I lost my nerve to approach her, I kicked myself. Of all the people , she made me the most nervous. for me being part of the press, I really dropped the ball. oh well. I wont make that mistake next time. I need to grow a pair. They are just human, well she is a little more then human! lol! :)

Haha !! Well if you ever see her again @chadcrypto get me an autograph! This woman has been one of my favorites since childhood you would make my day lol :)

I will make a post soon. I will tag you in it :) I need to dive back into my archives.

Excellent art. Who made it?

Wow you're really talented and I would love it if you could do a design for me that will be going on steemit travel mugs. The money made from the travel mugs will be set up to raise awareness of hate and influence the power of love.
They will also light up which I think will be a major marketing tool for late night concerts, and events. I would even be willing to allocate you 1% of profits raised for a lifetime. What do you think?

what kind of design are you wanting ?

@christoryan if you would like we can chat more about this on steemit chat I'm curious as what kind of design you would like ? You have a good idea I may be interested :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32