VIKING - original sketch and #nameinlights @eric-the-red

in #art8 years ago

I've been thinking about this viking for a few days but my inspiration really comes from @eric-the-red's username. Every time I see it, I think of a mighty viking.

Viking, art doodle by Meredith Loughran
Here's the final draft



Honestly, I don't know that much about eric-the-red except for this:

  • He's been on #Steemit for about a month and he's new to writing blogs. He's a husband, father, and clearly a libertarian from his posts.
  • Even being fairly new here, with a small following and not too much traffic on his posts, I can tell you from reading his post: I Haven't Earned a Penny on Steem, and That's Ok! - he's got a great attitude - the right attitude to stick with us.
  • He's interactive and creates thought-provoking posts. In fact, I had a great debate with one of his followers. While we agreed to disagree, we remained completely respectful to one another the entire time. I personally think that one's followers, who write thoughtful comments is a reflection of the person whom they're following - and I'm not talking about the type who swings by and says "Nice Post", you know what I mean?

I don't know how active @eric-the-red plans on being, but I wanted to shout him out because, well, the spirit muse moved me. So if you get a chance, check him out. Maybe with a little more traffic, he'll be more inclined to post and comment more.

Eric, this is your #nameinlights


  • #nameinlights was launched by @williambanks in an effort to spotlight Steemians who might not get as much attention as they should. Community oriented and a tool to lift our creative peers, consider using the hashtag and highlight someone you follow.

Viking, art doodle by Meredith Loughran
I started with pencil to get the basic shape


Viking, art doodle by Meredith Loughran
Then I began to trace in felt pen and marker, and filling in some areas of the helmet and horns

I didn't think the beard had enough POP, so I retraced with a thicker red marker for the final draft, as you can see in the first picture


Viking, art doodle by Meredith Loughran
And here I am holding up the final piece!



Wall of #Steemit love:

This awesome name in peppers was created by @papa-pepper: @papa-pepper made my name in peppers! Meredith Loughran @merej99

Bibi Rillmann @poeticsnake art, doodle, @merej99 Meredith Loughran And @poeticsnake graced me with her beautiful artwork!


If you like my content, please consider upvoting and visiting my other articles. Your comments are always appreciated.


Meredith Loughran sharing knowledge bombs, humor and life stories on Steemit

Meredith Loughran blogs at ScribblingBandits.com | Follow her on Twitter & SnapChat or LinkedIn


Come see what I've been writing! Visit my blog page

Sort:  

LOL - you crack me up!

Haha Only kidding lovely, awesome picture. I'll pop over and check out his blog.
PS is that a proper sketch pad I see..sniff I'm going to miss the graph paper.

I still have the graph paper but I got a few items with some of my Steemit earnings and I'm so happy! But I think I may have poked a sleeping monster. I wanted all the markers and pens!

heehee it's so hard to resist sometimes.

dammit. mere!! I upvoted at 14 hrs, and took u down 50 cents or something. I'm so sorry, lol. 12 hrs, got it. hope you are well, really enjoyed yr post on yr temp stay at the motel between places. hope u got it figured out. Also, nice post. haha. I'm getting ever closer myself..

This is awesome and thanks for sharing! I'm following him now too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59592.00
ETH 2545.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54