Girl in the Blue Dress - original artsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

I don't really celebrate commercialized holidays, so finding a job right before Christmas really wasn't a big deal for me. My kids are grown; I'm nearly an empty-nester, and having grown up in retail (my parents owned a bar/restaurant), we always worked holidays.

A young lady stood patiently waiting her turn

As I worked the register and made attempts to be pleasant for their final shopping fury, I noticed a young lady in my lane. There was really nothing outstanding about her except that she was dressed better than 90% of the average customer and employee. I did my usual smile with quick eye contact before asking if she found everything she was looking for.

She carefully laid her purchases on the conveyor belt and I quickly noticed she used the dividers to separate her items into groups. Having a bit of OCD, I can tell you that I try my best to bag things together that make sense. Bathroom items go in one bag. Make-up in another. Cleaning products in another. Chicken gets its own bag. Other meats can be piled in one bag. It's what I do. I can't help it and I won't change. Needless to say, I get what she was doing.


Girl in the Blue Dress by Meredith Loughran, art, drawing, mixed media

Girl in the Blue Dress

Anyway...

When it was her turn she was polite but quite adamant with instructions.

"These items need to stay together.
These items are marked 50% off. I want to make sure they ring up 50% off.
Please be careful with these items. I don't want them to break."

et cetera, et cetera


Now, many of you might have rolled your eyes, been impatient, or thought that she was being a controlling, pain-in-the-ass bitch. Something made me slow down. I took time to engage her.

You see, she had stilted speech. Her enunciation was very exact and just slightly monotone. Her attention to detail and her memory for prices was pretty remarkable, and she had a huge pile of small items that needed to be scanned. In the back of my mind I had the feeling she was autistic but it's not my place to say, "You're special, aren't you?"

A team effort

When it came time to ring out the 50% items, I asked her to watch the screen.

"I'm going to scan this as fast as possible so if something doesn't price correctly, please let me know."

I could hear her excitement when she found items that didn't have the mark down. She was quick to catch them. I was able to look up, confirm and make the price changes. For a brief moment, we made an excellent team and she was happy to participate.

At the beginning of the transaction, she had been twiddling her hands. By the time we were finished, she was relaxed and smiling. And as I turned to greet the next customer (guest), I realized her mother was beaming. She gave me the most sincere smile and I was deeply touched by that.

Exactness in everything

I had a moment to really observe this young lady. She was wearing a vintage 50s dress: fitted at the top, cinched at the waist and a slight balloon to the skirt. Her hair was perfectly coiffed with a matching headband. Her small purse matched her shoes. All-in-all she was very put together. She was graceful and beautiful.

And I cannot say exactly why she's been on my mind except that I also feel a sense of pride. And it doesn't really make sense except for the fact that I truly believe she is going to be independent one day. She's out in the world with her quirkiness and exactness. I hope the people she encounters in the future are gracious and kind.

I suppose I feel like this because I'm an Aspie and have not always been treated kindly. Maybe my sense of pride stems from seeing an autistic sister navigating life's hurdles in a beautiful blue dress.


Drawing was sketched in pencil, traced and colored with markers and shaded with oil pastels and gel pens


Public Service Announcement for Steemit Witnesses

Educate yourself on what Steemit Witnesses do.


This is a 100% STEEM POWER post.
merej99 is verified by Steem-verify
merej99-signature
Meredith Loughran is protected by Copyscape
Sort:  

The smile said everything,wasn't it ;)
Autistism ive read was just coined by some doctors who didn't know what to call it back in those days.

I had a similar experience a few years back - but in reverse. The girl working the meat counter at the store was developmentally delayed and looked well- put together like the girl in your story. Most customers would miss the tell-tale signs but I had been teaching special needs students and picked up on the cues. Customers would get angry if she didn't respond quickly to their requests - ex. she could handle a request for 6 slices of oven-baked chicken but got confused when asked for 12 ounces. She was frustrated and would keep repeating, "but how many slices?". It made me realize we can't put people in bubble-wrap, although I wanted to protect this girl. I also realized how we presume everything should run efficiently and how impatient we become when they don't. It never occurs to most of us to consider the other person may have special needs, especially when these aren't visible. Good post, mere :)

I organize my grocery and other items on the belt too....seriously. I'm so glad you recognized the specialness of this girl....and met her where she was....I was deeply touched by your ability to be with her. It's a gift.

Is this your drawing missie? I love the color....what's her name?

She isn't a Vivian....no....she has depth in her eyes, secrets....and red hair. She's sensitive, kind, gentle, easily bruised and confused. Let's call her something soft like Charlotte or Maeve.

This is my drawing :) First one in a couple of weeks!
I do that with groceries and you should see the colored hangers in my closet. LOL
And I like the name Charlotte. She is definitely a Charlotte, I think :) How are you doing on the Challenge30? I just got home from an extra shift at work so I haven't done all the reading I've wanted today.

I'm doing okay. Nothing seems to be making money today. I wrote something personal.
I'm glad you like the name Charlotte.

I came home and all the beasts were sleeping (the 2-legged and the 4-legged kind)! So I'm trying to read and comment between making dinner and cleaning up the kitchen. Let me get your post in a tab so I don't lose it.

Inspring story, that was very well handled.

Thank you @mikkolyytinen
Sometimes patience is the key, you know? We go so fast oftentimes we forget to down shift and take in the scenery. If I was less patient, I might have just been like "yeah, yeah" and done my own thing.

Beautiful story, beautiful art.

Well done. 😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you so much, @creatr :)
I appreciate you too.

That's interesting how you made a connection with someone that didn't seem very warm. I worked retail for over six years... I remember how picky people got about how their groceries were bagged... But I also remember treating people kindly and how good it felt at times.

Ironically, @countryinspired, I've found that the cold exteriors often hide a very warm person who's either builds big, cold walls to protect themselves or is genuinely in a hurry. Very rarely have I met truly cold people.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.96 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 04 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Glad you were able to help her out in a friendly way.

Sometimes it's just a matter of taking ourselves out of the equation and just going with the flow. :)

Beautiful work, congratulations my great friend @ merej99, its history I remember my work in Disco as a cashier, it seems that I told the story.
Thank you very much for these comments

Truly, @jlufer - if anyone has worked in retail then chances are our stories will be much the same anywhere you go.

This is wonderful. Thanks for posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60915.02
ETH 2636.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64