Audrey - original watercolor by @merej99 - Day 10steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

Audrey

Day 10 of the drawing challenge and still going strong!

Audrey by Meredith Loughran, art, watercolor, painting

This morning, my husband challenged me to do something with watercolors.

If you saw my Day 9 post Cherish the Sun, you would know that hubby surprised me with 140 lbs. watercolor paper stock and new paint brushes...and I didn't use them immediately.

That's like blasphemy in our house. LOL


I was thinking about working on another art noir piece, but as I scrolled through pictures, Audrey Hepburn popped into my head.

It's not art noir... She's no femme fatale!

She is one of my ultimate favorite actors and humanitarians of all time.

In fact, if I had to pick 5 famous people to have dinner with, she would be on that list.

Here are some of her quotes:

Nothing is impossible, the word itself says 'I'm possible'!

The best thing to hold onto in life is each other.

For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.

As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself, the other for helping others.

People, even more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, and redeemed; never throw out anyone.

I was born with an enormous need for affection, and a terrible need to give it.

Born on May 4, 1929 in Brussels, Belgium, Audrey Hepburn was a mother, actress, fashion icon, and philanthropist. In 1991, she was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the highest honor a president can give to a civilian for her tireless work for UNICEF and lending her voice to fight against world hunger. She died in her sleep at home in Switzerland on January 20, 1993 after finally losing her battle with appendiceal cancer.

Here's another angle.

Audrey by Meredith Loughran, art, watercolor, drawing

What's your favorite Audrey Hepburn movie?


And here I am posing with the final piece. The yellow background is still drying.

Audrey by Meredith Loughran, art, watercolor, drawing


This is a 100% STEEM POWER post.

Your comments, upvotes and shares are always appreciated.

Thank you.

For older content, visit my Steemit blog page

merej99-signature
Meredith Loughran is protected by Copyscape
merej99 is verified by Steem-verify
Sort:  

Steem_Land Steemland.com tweeted @ 11 Nov 2016 - 01:10 UTC

Audrey - original watercolor by @merej99 - Day 10 — Steemit

steemit.com/art/@merej99/a… / https://t.co/cev6eEpHf7

@SteemUps @SteemitPosts @steemit @steemiobot

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thank you @twitterbot and thank YOU @virtualgrowth :)

I don't think I've ever sat down and watched one of her movies tbh. I really should fix that.

hangs head in shame

I'm partial to My Fair Lady (your kids may enjoy that too) and Sabrina :)

I came for the art... but those quotes. Wow. Words to live by!

She was truly a beautiful woman on the inside and out! Hey, don't freak out but I'm going to unfollow and then refollow you. You have not been showing up on my feed along with several other people. So don't think I've abandoned you! XOXOX

Audrey Hepburn look-alike's often figure in my stories -- such as Un-break my Heart. Nice watercolor portrait, mere. It's always the eyes that say yes :)

My fictional heroes generally look like Liam Neeson or Joseph Fiennes. lol

Audrey Hepburn had a quote about eyes too:
"The beauty of a woman must be seen from in her eyes, because that is the doorway to her heart, the place where love resides."

a lovely quote :)

Wonderful pink outline

Thank you @opheliafu. I wanted to do something different than black, which is waaaay out of the box for me. lol

Audrey Hepburn just hit me from your timeline - even before I even opened this post!! LIKE!!

Excellent work my friend @ merej99, beautiful work, congratulations

Nice post. Previously I do not know the figure of Audrey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66