4715: The Year of the Rooster - What to expect? (with original art)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

Saturday, January 28, 2017 marked the celebration of the Chinese New Year. For anyone who loves reading about zodiac signs, we are well-aware that there are 12 traditional astrological constellations from which we often analyze and make predictions from.

Year of the Rooster by Meredith Loughran, watercolor, painting, art

Rooster in watercolor by Meredith Loughran

Unlike the traditional zodiac where each sign is associated to a month, the Chinese Zodiac is based on year and only repeats every 12 years. For instance, I was born in December, 1971. According to the traditional zodiac, anyone born in the month of December is a Capricorn -- but not all Capricorns are born in the Chinese Year of the Pig -- and not everyone born in the Year of the Pig is a Gold Pig.

What?

Yeah, I was scratching my head thinking the same thing.

History of the Chinese Calendar

According to Calendars through the Ages, in legend, the Chinese calendar traces back to Emperor Huangdi in the year 2637 B.C.E. and developed from exact observations of the moon phases and sun's longitudinal point.

The astronomical calculations are based upon 120 degrees east of Greenwich, which is essentially the east coast of China. Chinese years are not sequential like the Gregorian calendar. Rather, they are cyclical and counted in 60-year loops which include two major components: Celestial Stem and Terrestrial Branch and one minor component: The Elements

Celestial Stem

There are 10 Celestial Stems which coincide with ten days in a week. Where we might be familiar with Sunday through Saturday, their week days are

甲 Jia - first | 乙 Yi - second | 丙 Bing - third | 丁 Ding - fourth | 戊 Wu - fifth
己 Ji - sixth | 庚 Geng - seventh | 辛 Xin - eighth | 壬 Ren - ninth | 癸 Gui - tenth

Visit Master Wu's site for more in-depth reading about
Heavenly Stems and Earthly Branches

Terrestrial Branch

Much like the zodiac that Western civilization is familiar with, there are 12 terrestrial branches which are associated with animals.


image source

Unlike their western counterparts, each terrestrial branch is associated to a year not a month. So, if 2017 is the year of the Rooster, we will not have another one until the year 2029.

The Elements

There are five elements: Metal (Gold), Water, Wood, Fire, Earth, and each zodiac animal is associated with a fixed element.

According to Your Chinese Astrology they are:

METAL: Monkey & Rooster | WATER: Rat & Pig | WOOD: Tiger & Rabbit
FIRE: Snake & Horse | EARTH: Ox, Dragon, Sheep & Dog

Chinese Leap Month

In the Gregorian calendar, we have leap year every four years and insert an extra day into our calendar. In the Chinese calendar, they actually add an extra month. So instead of the "traditional" ~365 days in a year, they may actually have ~384 days.

How is this determined?

Leap years are determined by how many new moons there are between the Winter Solstice, which always falls in the 11th month of the year and the 11th month of the following year. If there are 13 new moons then it is a leap year and a 13th month is added.1

Full moon through trees by Meredith Loughran, photography

Picture by Meredith Loughran, 2016

What do the stars predict in the Year of the Rooster?

Anyone born in the Year of the Rooster is going to have a bit of a roller coaster ride in all areas of their life according to TravelChinaGuide.com. Actually, in their words it's going to be "turbulent".

Setbacks in work and relationships will hound the roosters with some reprieve in June and December. As for the rest of us? Well, I have no idea! But check out the Chinese zodiac to get your own readings.


Progression of art work


Background in blue, green and a little brown watercolor.



Rooster taking shape


Public Service Announcement

Educate yourself on what Steemit Witnesses do.

Have a Steemit day!

100% Steem Power by Meredith Loughran Steemit verified merej99, Meredith Loughran

Follow me on Twitter
Join my curation trail on Streemian

Sort:  

It's the year of the .. *cough*.. fiery cock lol

Btw, my family's pretty non-religious, but they follow this thing and feng-shui pretty closely. I don't understand how any of these have any effect. I think it's just to give some context to "work in", which isn't a bad thing I guess..

Love that painting - nice soft colours :)

BWAHAHAHAA

The fiery cock indeed!
My mother loves Chinese New Year. I think it's a good enough reason for her to cook extra special Korean dishes, which confuses the heck out of me. lol
Whenever I read horoscopes or Tarot or anything like that, it's almost like a challenge to see how accurate you can be without actually giving specifics.
As long as no one lives and breathes every single word to become a self-fulfilling prophesy, I think reading these are all in good fun.

I think I'm the Dragon, no surprise there then lol love your rooster :)

Here's the link to the Year of the Dragon. I always enjoy reading horoscopes and zodiac things because it's just vague enough to be believable. LOL

i focus more on the qualities ;)

Might be something in it Thank you :)

Actually, the rooster doesn't like dragon. There's even a tale that the rooster's crow every morning is because it's reminding the dragon who borrowed the horns/antlers/whatever on the head and never return.:-)
just for fun

Well I like the dragon lol :)

Wondering if you are born before 4th Feb

I was born in may

well, confirm you are dragon then.

1964 is the dragon the year I was born

As we like to say in my country - double confirm.

How do I do that?

I meant you sort of double confirm already. The year and the month combination is no doubt any more. There is doubt if one born in month of January or first few days of February.
It's kind of joke when I hear my fellow country man and woman said double confirm. I always thought confirm is confirm, what is double confirm? But it's the kind of obscure English that grew with us.
Maybe from 'double check' to 'confirm' and someone must have added 'double confirm'. :-)
If you know have anyone who wants to confirm, check the day they are born versus the Hsia Calendar.
https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Ba_Zi/Hsia_Calendar
The person must be born on or after the first day of spring according to this calendar. That is mostly 4th February but sometimes 3rd and sometimes 5th. For this year, it's 3rd. That means anyone born on 3rd Feb is born in the year of the rooster. One born on 1st January to 2nd Feb will be born in the year of the monkey.

Sorry it doesn't take much to muddle my head up lol yeah Us English really do say a few strange things, we are very strange lol

Excellent pos dear friend @ merej99, I was born in 1968 I think I'm cute.
Every day you learn something new, thank you very much for sharing this wonderful material.
Beautiful work of the cock, I like the color combination

Hi @jlufer! You were born in the Year of the Monkey - which was celebrated last year.

The monkey looks like me when I do not have the internet to upload my work.
Thank you very much dear friend for the data

I have many days like this too. If my imagination ever took physical form, that computer would be in a million pieces and I'd be stomping all over it! lol

oh can i have the RAT then please? ta!

Certainly! Here is the link for Year of the Rat
I love to compare their findings of the zodiac with the actual people. So many times it is accurate. It's no wonder that people get hooked on horoscopes! :)

thank you! horoscopes probably give them a thrill for a few seconds ;)

I'm also a Rat.

Hey sweets, looks like you and my husband have the same sign ;) The Chinese buffet we go to used to have a chart underneath the laminate, but for some reason they called it the Year of the Boar not the pig, I wonder why that is.

I've heard it called both. I'm half wondering if it might be a translation thing.

My mother used to be all excited about the Chinese New Year (which I thought was odd being that she's Korean). When she first told me I was a PIG I was totally insulted! LOL Like, why couldn't I be a Dragon or Tiger or something cool -- a pig?!? bah! (Western thinking, perhaps?)

That's exactly what I was wondering, if they changed it for the great American ego, hahaha!!

Great post and I love your rooster art ! Im a rabbit and will be checking out your chinese zodiac link for my reading ! Thanks for providing it ! Happy New Year 🎉🎉

I was born in 67 but I couldn't see what the little guy was. 🤔

Cool and being born an Aries means I am really hard headed! 🤣

Dang, Ken - I think you've probably got the Double Whammy of hard-headedness. LOL
On the plus side (if you're into this kind of stuff) - you don't mind climbing toward destinations most mortals shy away from and you've got solid footing. :)

Yep. And that's gotten me into a world of trouble. Ha ha. Life is good.

Love your rooster, mere! it's beautiful and colourful, and very happy :)

Thanks, John! It felt so good to break out the art supplies. I finally feel like I'm getting acclimated to the new work schedule so my energy level has improved. I've got some catch up reading on your stories! I saw the loneliness of night part 2 so I was just heading over to part 1 in your blog list. :)

it's different having to follow a rigid schedule --doing things you don't want to do when you really want to do something else -- like sleep or just hang out. It can be exhausting until you adjust

Thanks for this lesson. I have always been curious about the animal years and elements.

It's common to celebrate the Chinese New Year according to the Lunar calendar and many think that starts the year of the rooster in the case for the this year. However, the start of the year for the different zodiac signs should follow the Hsia calender and the first day of spring and LiChun which is usually 4th Feb but is 3rd Feb this year.
Nevertheless, fortune reading are fun and good guide to how do plan your year. I had a recent post where I shared pictures of the luck of the 12 different zodiacs recently if you're interested. :-)

Oh, yes please! If you could include a link here that would be great. I love anything that has to do with the moon and stars :)

Thank you. I loved the god of wealth display. It was very interesting to read what 2017 had in store for the pig. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59073.90
ETH 2519.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48