FIRST TRY of PIXEL ART

in #art7 years ago (edited)

When I was browsing some posts on Steemit I found a pixel art contest. I have never done pixel art, so I didn't have any program for it, but it really caught me, so I decided to give it a try.

Link of pixel art contest: https://steemit.com/art/@jonny-clearwater/pixel-art-weekly-contest-theme-announcement-win-steem

On Google I found some online program for pixel art called Piskel. I know there are surely better programs for it, but you know I am not a pixel artist, so it was the best and the easiest way how to start with it for me.

The theme of the contest was seasons, so basically I chose a tree for my first try. However I didn't want to draw it too much of the classic way - 4 trees next to each other illustrated according to 4 seasons - so I just drew a branch with the 'season gradient' from top to bottom.

The biggest problem for me was the size of the whole picture, so I watched some youtube video. There was a guy, pixel artist, who said, that what he likes about pixel art is to do it in the smallest way that is still enough for capturing the main details. And I really like his idea, because I am finding the main point of whole pixel art in it.


I saw the entries that won the previous weekly pixel art contest, so I know my pixel art cannot be equal to their arts in any way. However I really wanted to try it out and I will appreciate your ideas on how to be much more better in it.


Thank you and see you in my next post.

Sort:  

For your first time ever, that is a really nice picture, keep it up man and keep making these!

Thanks luciferianluci! It was fun, so I surely want to try to make another one sometimes. :)

Again, well done. It looks great and I agree that pixelart at it's smallest is triest to the artform. Btw, Piskel is very capable for a free program.

Haha thanks again! Yeah it's a great thought. Looks like I will stay with Piskel then. :)

Piskel is actually one of my favorite tools for pixel art.
You did a fantastic job

Oh is it? Then that's great I chose it :) and thank you! :)

Btw...you need to resteem the original contest post.
It's in the rules!
I've already announced you the winner.
Get on it!😉

It's resteemed and thanks! :)

Well described

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64083.97
ETH 3475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54