Trip At The Brain: Art on a Smartphone

in #art4 years ago

In yesterday's post, a certain slobbery gentleman asked what I was wearing on my head in the tiny chat pic avatar I had posted.

He asked if it was a hat.

This was no hat. Instead it was an early foray into the world of digital editing on a smartphone.

In the glorious past, an age of massive desktop PC's, I was quite the whizz with Photoshop.

Of course, that was before it became a locked down online subscription only nonsense.

With the advent of children in my life, I suddenly found I didn't have spare hours to piss about having hobbies of my own anymore and my photo editing talents swiftly ebbed away.

By then smartphones had become more powerful and I was posting on Steemit a lot. I missed being able to edit photos properly and started looking around at tools I could use to do the funky.

I found a selection and started experimenting.

Then an art contest/collaboration popped up on Steemit using a piece by the glorious @opheliafu.

I couldn't resist joining in with the below post.

If you haven't seen @opheliafu's collaboration call out here then I suggest you trot on over and check it out. It was a post in response to to @kevinwong's post A Call for Participation - Collaborative Content Creation....

The starting piece was this. A fine trip at the brain if I ever saw one!

But what to do... Well in the past some people have rudely insinuated that perhaps I need a brain transplant. Well, what a fine idea!!

A fine incision was made in PicSay pro with the smallest brush with a blood red colour

Aargh, no anesthetic!

And it's lopped off, jings, crivvens and help ma boab! I simply painted with the white background colour over the incision line

And then to add insult to injury in goes the alien brain. The eagle eyed along you will notice that it is the top half of the brain I used joined with itself. It kinda looked like a psychedelic Millennium Falcon this way!

Bit of shading with a dark red brush to make it look more real. At this point I was really quite proud that I did this in a smartphone. It would be difficult enough in Photoshop!

A little blood dripping down. After all it's quite the invasive thing.

Bit dull though, needs some background. Bit of blue matrix maybe to match the steemit colours!

I tossed the image over to Pixlr Express for a futuristic overlay and some random upvote symbols

But it still needed something. This time I boinged it over to an Art stying app. I wanted to change the background and merge it back into the pic.

Bit wild as you can see!

Merged this back with the original, worked on bit and tada!!!

I am quite happy with the end result! My good lady said I was patently nuts when she saw it. Ha!

She's right!

Sort:  

Doc, can I book an operation?

Haha. It might end up a little different!!

Good lookin' noggin you got there Boomy.

It's shiny! :OD

And pleasingly rounded.

I think I agree with your lady!! LOL
Nicely done!!

Lol. Cheers!!

Aha.., makes complete sense.. I wonder what that scammer thought of your avatar?

...'should I move on to the next one? this one looks a bit demented'...

They are so stupid that I don't even think they notice things like that. I use to bait them when bored back in the days of the Nigerian prince mails with an email account called arsepepperjack. They don't think or care!

They say that people become stir crazy while in lockdown/confined to their homes....here is some definite proof!
If you need help or you just need to talk, let me know and I will schedule an online appointment with my therapist.....

Haha. I am definitely going a bit nuts. We aren't even allowed to drive far now!!

Oh wow! I always thought it took a bit of doing to get the great graphics (if that's the proper terminology) that you always present. I didn't realize it took that much jockeying about lol. It makes me appreciate them even more! If I could get a brain transplant I would like to have Spock's brain lmao....oh, and his ability to pinch people into submission :D

I wouldn't mind the pinchy pinch myself!

It does take a fair bit of effort. In fact silver of them take ages but I never really like to point that out because most people never mention them and I get embarrassed calling them art!!

Oh do not be embarrassed! It is art indeed, but not just the final outcome...it is the whole imaginative process that is included in the finished piece. That's a good (and marketable) skill.

Ooft, flattery will get you everywhere!

Cheers lass :O)

I appreciate your creativity, dear @meesterboom!
@tipu curate


A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

!trdo

Congratulations @amico, you successfuly trended the post shared by @meesterboom!
@meesterboom will receive 0.29044575 TRDO & @amico will get 0.19363050 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations @meesterboom, your post successfully recieved 0.29044575 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@amico earned : 0.1936305 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76