Freedom for Humanity (London Mural)(Video)

in #art7 years ago

Freedom For Humanity.jpeg

I had a lot of questions after 9/11 that I used my art to address. My views weren't necessarily shared by many of my peers; more than being underground, they were considered disinformation and somewhat cast me as a pariah in a culture I helped build. Then the economy crashed in 2008. All my growing fears and frustrations with the war in Afghanistan and Iraq, the ever-expanding coffers of the 1% bankster elite profiting from the military industrial complex at the expense and enslavement of the working class were confirmed. So I took to the streets, first at Occupy LA 2011 then a year later I painted my "Freedom for Humanity" mural in East London, which received both praise and condemnation, and was eventually buffed by the local council on the grounds that it was “anti-Semitic". Now, over 5 years later, a new breed of self-interested UK politicians and their mainstream media puppets continue to try to fit me into their tidy little box of limited perspectives using my art as a divisive tool to cut each other down and associate opposition with hate and bigotry. Yet all one has to do is simply watch the video to see my real life experiences and thoughts documented.

As an artist I am always moved by the necessity to make my work important. Art must speak about the real issues of our time. Everywhere I look I see the world becoming the science fiction reality I grew up reading about in books and watching on the screen. Greed runs rampant and now more than ever the capitalist elites who have caused suffering on mass scales throughout history for their own trillions in profit have an even stronger hand in orchestrating most all of the problems we face, namely war & poverty, and the destruction of humanity. “Freedom for Humanity” was my response to this human condition. The irony is that it’s become a mirror for the very politicians who are perhaps too afraid to look themselves in the face, all the while sitting pretty (or pretty desperate) in the coat-pockets of their financiers, the greedy elite, playing a game of monopoly on the backs of the working class. PEACE, MEAR ONE

Sort:  

glad to see you posting here again. here's my article on the whole mural controversy:
https://steemit.com/conspiracy/@lavater/is-the-truth-anti-semitic-the-maer-one-mural-controversy-jeremy-corbyn-a-puppet

Excellent article, thanks for the support brother/sister! I hope this controversy opens up a dialogue or debate on what is taboo and why can't we talk about certain things. This conversation is definitely not black and white and there's certainly not one perspective on what these terms mean and so the more we open our eyes and our minds and talk about these issues openly we'll finally be able to get some logical answers.

Hi @mearone, I'm very grateful to find you on steemit and honored to follow you.

I discovered you thanks to @limma post, resteemed by @dannyshine and commented by @lavater: thanks to all!

Thank you & grateful to find and follow you here too! PEACE, MEAR

Hi there, thanks for posting this.I love your work. Are you also responsible for the beautiful art painting in Bermondsey? I just posted it now on my blog. If it's not you, do you know who it is?

No idea, but happy to connect with you here. PEACE, MEAR

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63