The revelation, original artwork by @mayasky

in #art8 years ago

This painting has been one of the most important pieces I ever made. It was a milestone in many ways. To compose a figure in a room surrounded by different textures was one thing, but more important was the process and effort that came with developing a painting from a vision or idea to a 2D experience.

I was very emotionally invested in this painting for many reasons. One, I was painting a very dear friend of mine that helped me realize this painting through her modeling. Two, it was the first bigger painting I attempted to make after completing my art education. Three, it was the first painting I made in a long time 100 % for me, myself and I.

For the longest time I worked on this painting and felt like I never got it just right. I hid it away for months, the only person who saw it was my friend who modeled. At the time I was also working towards a solo exhibition and had a lot of other paintings to complete for the show. They were all more standard motifs like still life’s, portraits and landscapes. This was the only piece that was more thematic and ‘’out there’’.

I wasn’t actually even going to put it in the exhibit because I felt like it didn’t fit with the other paintings. I remember thinking that people would look at it and say it belonged in an illustration book about witches and wizards rather than an art show with classical realist work.

But guess what, I did! And I was very glad I made that decision. It was the first painting to sell and I was reminded once more that the art I truly enjoy making always end up being felt by the people watching.

Here are some process shots from the time I spent working on it, enjoy!

The finished painting all framed up! It measures 70 x 90 cm and is oil on canvas.

Here is a picture from the exhibit of me and the lovely woman who ended up buying it! Me to the wright. This was a good day!

Sort:  

first words out of my mouth again WOW
if i had any money i would buy ALL of these instantly https://steemit.com/art/@mayasky/may-the-forest-be-with-you-orignal-artwork-by-mayasky

@mainenigma!! What compliment! Thank you so much for your comment and support! Wow! :D

Really detailed and gorgeous work. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Thank you so much @important! It's my pleasure :)

Wow! Amazing like everything else I've seen from you! Thanks for sharing. :)

Thank you @alcibiades! For your comment and support! :)

Fantastic!!

Thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44