Seeing an unfinished painting in a new light, the benefit of a creative break.

in #art8 years ago

After having a break from painting I am now seeing unfinished projects in a new light. One of the paintings I found the other day was this portrait I started a couple of months back. At the time I wasn’t at all that happy with where it was going and was giving myself a hard time thinking it was far from being finished, or good enough.

Looking at it after some time and with a different mindset I suddenly see not only how I should finish it up but also what to leave as finished already. I do think it’s highly beneficial to give some of my creative projects a break to breath for me to have the opportunity to look at them with fresher eyes and a more constructive mindset.

I think with this painting I will leave most of the face as it is and just focus on putting in a neutral background, a shirt and his headphones, then take it from there. If there is one thing I am still a bit unsure of it is if the presence of the headphones will make it or break it. I guess the only way to figure it out thou is to give it a try!

At least I have my new project figured out for the next couple of days, which is always nice.

Here are some process shots as well that I took while working on it last time;

Hope you enjoyed and hope you have an inspiring day!

Sort:  

Master class. Still possible today as we can see. Nice that you let us look at the process of your painting. To know when to finish is a real difficult task and a lot of artist have experienced it.
This portrait is so lively. You want to meet this man. Can you tell us a bit about this person.

Thank you so much @johano! I love the fact that you find the portrait lively and intriguing! This person happens to be a very special man in my life, maybe that is why I am able to convey him so lively in paint! ;) Cheers!

I know what you are talking about.
All the best !

This is beautifully done. Maybe it doesn't need a whole lot more if anything at all. I know I'd be tempted to leave it. And when I read about you giving your work some space, I can totally relate to that. I do it all the time.

Thank you very much @chessmonster! I was tempted to leave it for the longest time, but I do think I'll try adding a few more brushstrokes to describe his shirt and the headphones. ;) And fingers crossed it's gonna be a good decision! Thank you for your comment, it's always great when you can relate to someones creative process! Cheers!

This looks amazing!

Thank you @maxjoy!! Fo your comment and your face! :D


Hi @mayasky, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Hey @shadowspub! Thanks a lot! Appreciate it! :D Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79