A short introduction to my world. More to come! An A3 Commissioned Ink drawing I'm working on.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! I would like to express my gratitude to the Steemit community for being so welcoming, respectful, fun and extremely helpful. I fell in love with the overall concept immediately and cannot wait for the furthering of it! So, I know I’m a little late to the community but that’s alright… each to their own.    

My name is Mark but in my art world I sign MaxiM. If you're wondering why MaxiM... don't worry that story will be shared here one day soon. I’m currently studying in The Hague, Netherlands but originally I’m from Basel, Switzerland and Chicago, USA (although I've never been there for more than a few weeks at a time). Having moved here in February of last year I’ve had quite some time to get accustomed to how things are in the Netherlands and I must say it’s a beautiful, diverse and open-minded country to say the least. Throughout the last year I’ve been avidly working on my art every day. I’ve been trying my very best to fit in as much creative work as possible on top of my studies and general life things. 

Nature has always been a great source of inspiration to me, from the moment I could walk I loved being outside in parks. Jumping in to piles of leaves and playing in sandboxes. So, it almost seems normal that my creative impulses blossom under similar circumstances. Drawing lines has been one of my favourite forms of creativity because you don’t have a clue where the next line could take you. One idea leads to the next and you end up with a complex array of what I like to call beautiful chaos.    

Today I’ve been working on the commission pictured below. I’m quite proud of the detail I can draw onto it using my Rotring Rapidograph 0.1mm pen. Having worked for 25 hours to date it is the most time I have spent on one, roughly A3-sized piece. I have included some detailed shots of the piece as well so you can get a real feel for the detail of the piece. Please excuse the mess :) I know it may not seem like it but it is an organised mess ;)

Here's what the piece looked like before I started working in the detailed tangles.

I usually go about my larger pieces in sections, especially when it has to be the same on all four six or eight sides...

With great patience comes progress...

Here's a close up shot of a finished section...


I would very much appreciate it if anyone could link me to a resource revolving around posting images on Steemit. I've figured it out for now but I would like to know the ins and outs. Thank you so much for reading this far, it means a lot to me to have people all over the place, that are genuinely interested in what I have to share. I hope you have a fantastic day/night. 

- MaxiM

Sort:  

Oh wow, that´s beautiful!
Hoping to see a lot more of it.
Welcome and enjoy your time on steemit :)

Thank you so much! I've posted a few more times since this one if you'd like to check them out. :)

I used to make drawings like this as well. Well, not as big and detailed as this one. Awesome! They sometimes feel like meditation, I felt calm and peaceful drawing them :)

That is so awesome!! Most of my drawings aren't this big as I don't really have the time but every now and then I indulge myself with a larger adventure. They surely do!! I am at a very peaceful state of mind thanks mostly to my creative process. Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment :)

Beautiful drawing! Seems like a whole lot of work :)

Thank you so much! It sure is, but it never really feels like it :)

Great Intro and artwork.

I'm not sure of a specific post about images. Have you tried the search function at the top? Otherwise I just use postimg.io for hosting (there are others available), and add the link into the post. I use a Markdown editor (although it took me a while to understand how). The one I use is StackEdit.

Thank you so much for the info! I'm going to go check them out now :) I tried steemimg.com but it didn't seem to accept the link when I was creating the post. I'm still learning so I'll be tweaking my ways around steemit anyhow for the next few days... Have a good one :)

I first tried steemimg but had a lot of problems. Lots to learn for sure, but never hesitate to ask. Myself, or others can be reached at steemit.chat (via DM).

Yeah I definitely have got lots to learn! Thanks for letting me know. :)

Steemit has it`s own website for image hosting: http://www.steemimg.com Free to sign up and easy to use! :) By the way your work is awesome Mark! ;)

Awesome thanks for letting me know :) Im glad you like it, thank you so much :D

Thank you so much for posting this! It was love at first sight :D
You are absolutely correct, patience and practice are essential, especially when working with ink and in such fine detail. Looking forward to seeing your future posts!

Oh that's so nice to hear :) Thank you so much for your nice comment! Once you get the ink flowing you gotta keep going ;) I'm currently working on a upcoming post that will be up within an hour or so!

Upvoted followed and resteemed!! Please follow me back😊

Thank you so much! :)

Welcome to steemit @maximdraws. Best of luck to you!

Thank you so much @gringalicious :)

His works dear friend @maximdraws are extraordinary, great job congratulations, you have many success !!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you so much @jlufer, it means a lot to me to hear you say this!

Extraordinary work! Awesome.

Thank you very much! :)

wow, great work! Beautiful details, congrats!!! ^_^

Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoy it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54