Showing How I Started Painting the Pet Portrait

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I recently posted about a pet portrait I did for a customer, a 5 x 7, acrylic on hardboard. Thank you for all your kind comments. Someone asked me if I could show how I did it. So here is a video showing how I paint the first few layers, my process, and my thoughts on it.

I paint in acrylic using an Old Master's glazing technique that I learned from a university professor while I was in high school. In this technique, you apply several thin layers of paint, that translucently build up the color to a rich surface.

Here's more from the video...

Hope you enjoyed this video. Let me know if you have any questions on the technique, and I'll be happy to answer.

Be blessed,

Signature_200dpi_sm.jpg

If you like this post, please upvote, follow and resteem. I post regularly on art, tips on painting and drawing, and encouraging thoughts.

See more of my artwork at: MattPhilleo.com

Sort:  

Beautiful picture the eyes are so realistic :)

Thank you, Kathiel! I like to put a lot of focus on the eyes, since that's where we look first.

gd follw me

Thanks for the breakdown. Awesome portrait.

nice portrait, hope u can paint one of my 19 cats one day hahaha :-)
check my first post about cats: https://steemit.com/animals/@raphavongal/cats-are-lovely-just-like-dogs
hope you enjoy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60830.20
ETH 2393.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63