Original Pet Portrait Painting

in #painting7 years ago

Mulder_dog_portrait_1-md.jpg

Here is a pet portrait I did, an 8 x 10, acrylic on hardboard.

And here is the reference photo I used for it. This was a commissioned project, and the customer asked me to add the details of the Wisconsin Badgers logo. That's one of the great things about a custom painting--you can have it customized.

IMG_4373.PNG

Be blessed today,

Signature_200dpi_sm.jpg

If you like this post, please upvote, follow and resteem. I post regularly on art, tips on painting and drawing, and encouraging thoughts.

Sort:  

I love how you draw the focus to the face and the eyes, rather than everything being crystal clear. That's a method from the Renaissance, correct?

Thank you, Morodiene. I'm not sure if that is a particular Renaissance method, but I learned about thinking consciously about focal points in art school. It's better to have a focal point, then having everything overdetailed. We like to have visual rest in certain spaces within a painting, and yet something to draw us in. So this is good from a viewing standpoint, but also a creative standpoint. Because let's face it: covering every square inch of your painting with excessive detail takes a lot of time, and possibly, unnecessarily!

It looks really great. At first I thought its a real photo before clicking into the thumbnail haha

How long did it take :)?

Hi Swagprincess, it took about 20 hours. I paint with a glazing technique where I thin the acrylic with clear medium and apply it with several layers. That allows me to create shading and build up the color to a rich surface. It takes some patience, but I like the results with that technique.

Love the picture and love the painting :) You have managed to create the mood perfectly :) Great job :)

Thank you, Bescouted!

Wow, that's a wonderful job. Very like. Everything turned out perfectly.

Thank you for the kind words!

i actually think I like your drawing better. You almost dont even need a top hat or monoccle because it already looks classy enough :P. very cool!

Thanks. :) I'm glad I don't have to get a top hat--I'm already tall enough! :)

Upvoted and RESTEEMED :]

Thank you, Coolgirl!

Gorgeous painting. I paint wildlife in oils, maybe I'll post one of my paintings, just new to Steemit

Thanks, Once. I'll follow you so I can see them!

First of all, cutest dog ever! LOL.

Second of all, really impressive. Well done :) You should maybe take pictures of the development of it too!

I will give you a follow :) Talk again soon!

Thank you. I think I do have a couple videos showing the in progress work on it. I'll see if I can post them here.

Awesome stuff, go for it!

We should engage in each other's content for often. Already following. Talk soon.

Great, thanks!

Thank you, Samuel!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58644.49
ETH 2625.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38