You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Walk-Through: Live Portrait Painting in Oil

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Jnart, this is a fantastic post with a TON of value. I hope it gets upvoted much higher. I am a professional portrait painter who works in acrylic, and even though this is oil painting being demonstrated, it will be very useful for me and others, especially the art terminology. I teach classes in my studio and online as well, but I am always striving to perfect my craft.

You did a great job capturing the overall features of the model. I like the contrast between the man and the background as well as the cooler tones in his face. How long did this take?

Also, I noticed you did a grisaille before blocking in the flesh tones. Did you glaze the flesh tones in with a medium of some sort or did you work them in opaque? I've always wondered at why a person would do a grisaille first; it seems redundant. Why wouldn't you just block in the values with the appropriate color and save a step? I'm coming at this with an attitude to learn. I'm just wondering what the reasoning is.

Anyway, love this post and excellent painting you produced. Upvoted and resteemed! One last thing, may I have your permission to share this with my online painting students if I give you credit and link back to your post here on Steemit? Thanks!

Sort:  

I'm so glad to hear his! Sometimes I think of attending a professional art-school but then I always say to myself - the internet is the new art-school! I will keep on checking out your stuff as well. You are partly doing what I want to do in the future, great inspiration!

It took quite some time, I think it was four days with 4-6 painting hours a day.

Did you glaze the flesh tones in with a medium of some sort or did you work them in opaque? I worked opaque on top. The purpose of the grisaille was to establish value and have a solid underpainting. I also thought it was a little bit time-wasting. But I guess it is easier to match the grisaille with the sketch, otherwise you maybe get lost in details quicker. I am far from good at this compared to the teacher so there are probably other reasons too.

Absolutely, share the content as you please. I might post a second one where I explain even more.

Thanks for getting back, Jnart, and answering my questions. I will share this post with my network and link it back here. It's great to see your post got upvoted higher--it's deserving of it! Have a blessed day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66794.56
ETH 3501.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71