Via del Corso / An Original Oil Painting by Matthew Holden Bates

in #art5 years ago

36B40386-C781-448E-BDDD-E03FA02F8F0D.jpeg

Via del Corso / oil on canvas - 80cm x 130cm - private collection - ©️Matthew Holden Bates, All Rights Reserved

This large scale painting was inspired by a very lucky chance of light and a rapid fire camera shot. I noticed that the sun was angled into the street, just when a nice couple was walking into it. I grabbed my camera and was very fortunate to get the shot in time without any blurring or movement. I am always looking for a new concept and Firenze is full of great ideas. Sometimes I walk around with a camera just to see if I can get a fortunate shot, this Day was very fortunate.

756B8529-2067-48F6-9426-957EEC3C5F85.jpeg

I used the Fibonacci sequence to frame the composition. The dimensions are 80cm x 130cm which are two Fibonacci number multiplied by ten. This means that the Fibonacci grid fits perfectly into the overall design. The red squares in the image above are diminishing Fibonacci numbers to show how they also make a unique grid pattern for the design to flow into. That is the magic of Fibonacci numbers. To read more about how I use the Fibonacci sequence in my work you can read a short article I wrote on the subject here:

Fibonacci - Golden Ratio

00048DD7-D8CA-4018-A600-96662B88D7D3.jpeg

If you look closely you can see how I signed the painting, I used the outdoor neon signs to spell out my name. Matthew is written on one side and Bates is on the other, in reverse, just for fun!

F0543766-B7F2-49D2-B42C-CDD7587D1298.jpeg

The original painting is no longer available for sale, however high quality limited edition giclee reproductions are available at Curioos right now! (They are having a sale today!)

Here is the link:

Via del Corso

If you like my art and would enjoy seeing more, you can follow me on Steemit @matteopaints and visit my official site Matthew Holden Bates . I am always happy to see when a post has been resteemed, and upvotes are always welcome! I also look forward to reading and responding to your comments, it is what makes Steemit such a cool place to be. I am also working hard on my Duomo Project but have little to update right now, as soon as there are some big improvements I will post them here.

Take care!! A presto, Matteo 👋😀

Sort:  

Incredible use of the Fibonacci sequence, @matteopaints! And what a lovely painting, full of beautiful details.

Many thanks for sharing this gorgeous artwork!

Thanks buddy!!!👋😀

It’s nice to see your work again, @matteopaints. Very nice.

Thanks!! More to come soon!! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks!👋😎

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Hi Matteo, first of all, as always amazing painting, love it very much. The next I noticed you using #ntopaz tag but in order to make your work visible in NTopaz you should create your post in @NTopaz, I think your work deserve more visibility and support. I would like you to read the rules how to post them via NTopaz and also if you have any questions just joint the discord and ask any questions, Cheers, @art-venture, @stef1

https://steemit.com/ntopaz/@smeralda/notice-en-ntopaz-posting-guidelines

https://steemit.com/ntopaz/@ntopaz/introduction-to-the-ntopaz-project

Awesome! Thank you so much I will check this out pronto!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61915.54
ETH 3000.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59