Paintings of Cities - On the Road - by Matthew Holden Bates

in #art6 years ago

60E0CE84-D330-4069-9A03-EFCB79BFE439.jpeg

“SoHo, New York City” Oil on Canvas - Private Collection ©️Matthew Holden Bates, All Rights Reserved

When I go on vacation, or on the road to do a show, I like to immortalize the experience by doing a painting of the city that I visited. This first painting is of NYC, a place that I have spent a lot of time, especially when I was growing up. My dad is from Long Island and he went to school in the city, I loved it when we would road trip it to visit his friends. New York entered into me and I felt the need to do a New York Painting, and here it is.

7F017B65-F7D4-4720-8E08-71DF505DC7CC.jpeg

“Copley Square” oil on canvas - private collection ©️Matthew Holden Bates - All Rights Reserved

My mom is from New England, and if you have been following my posts here on Steemit, I am sure that this is a painting that you have seen. I guess Boston has been like NYC, as much as it can be, a city that has always been a part of my life. I am even going there this week for family time, all the way from my beloved Firenze.

85F5D674-0990-447C-8D88-8DB176E5DE5F.jpeg

“Paris Garden” oil on canvas - 40cm - 40cm ©️Matthew Holden Bates - All Rights Reserved

Paris is usually grey, and that means that the Parisians spend a lot of time and money of brightening it up. I think that Paris is one of the most beautiful cities I have been to mostly because of their attention to the little things, a small garden like this one can make a huge difference in the experience of walking down the street. Even if this painting is a bit fanciful, not strictly photographic since I really just made up this composition, it captures all of the beauty and pathos of my memory of Paris.

DBC9F966-F950-4850-8A6B-7786114FA9FD.jpeg

“Venezia” acrylic on Masonite - private collection - ©️Matthew Holden Bates - All Rights Reserved

Back in Italy, much like the other paintings, this is one that I always wanted to make. Venezia is so iconic, so unbelievable, like a magic city floating on the sea. This painting, which was made with acrylics is a bit different, I usually paint in oils. It was still fun to make.

DC6800F1-658E-4A9D-A398-3A99E2EEB17B.jpeg

“Vienna” acrylic on Masonite - ©️Matthew Holden Bates - All Rights Reserved

This painting is in the same series as the Venezia Painting, is was trying out acrylics, a bit of a departure for me. I didn’t spend much time in Vienna, but it was amazingly beautiful. This is just a small detail, in a city of details. I love cities that respect art and embellish their buildings with sculpture much like the next painting which I made after visiting Prague.

2138A624-4A2A-47B0-BC38-45D78BA0BC16.jpeg

“Prague” oil on canvas - ©️Matthew Holden Bates - All Rights Reserved

Prague was also just a quick trip, but what a place! So many buildings with angels in the architecture, i took so many photos, eventually I found this gem of a subject along the river.

D2D9DF14-72C7-4B7E-A4A8-3B4F97FDD708.jpeg

“Cannes Reflections” oil on canvas - ©️Matthew Holden Bates - All Rights Reserved

The last painting in this post is dedicated to Cannes, a jewel on the French Riviera. If you look closely you can see the Carlton Hotel. I spent this vacation with my family, just another romp for the Bates’ 😎

My main muse has been Firenze, most of my cityscapes are of my home, but every so often I like to paint where I have visited, just to help me remember the good times. Paintings are like memories, when I look at any one of these paintings they remind me of where I have been, what I was doing and who I was with. Life tends to travel fast, and even when we stop to think about it, we can be a little hazy about the details. That is why I make these paintings, also to paint something new. I think in one os my next posts I will focus on the landscapes, when I went out in nature, away from the hustle of the city.

If you like my artwork feel free to follow me on Steemit @matteopaints , I try to post a new article at least once a week. Resteems and upvotes are always appreciated. And for the curators out there, thank you again for all of your support!!!!!!!

My official site: http://www.mattbates.net

Prints of my art: https://www.curioos.com/mattbates

Sort:  

I love your paintings so much, @matteopaints .... Your grasp of colours and your painting technique are simply spectacular <3 Always, always brighten my day when I come across your posts :)

Thank you!!!!!!🍾🥂🎉🎈

What a fantastic set of paintings. My favourites are the first two and the fourth. Amazing details everywhere I look.

You got my 100% vote and a resteem. Brilliant work!

Thank you so much!!!!!🎉🎈😀

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Your post has been featured on @artzone

Courtesy of @nmalove

Hey that’s really great!!!!!🎈🎉😀


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for the ❤️😀

Congratulations @matteopaints! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38