Duomo Project / Phase 1 Complete by Matthew Holden Bates

in #art6 years ago

024E8B56-478D-4773-98E9-42E430C59E28.jpeg

Duomo Project / drawing detail by Matthew Holden Bates

Well, 18 hours later...... I finally have finished the preparatory drawing using my spolvero techniques which I described in my last enstallment. The drawing took a lot longer than I thought it would. My hand is numb. Luckily I am very pleased with the result:

EEED53EB-16A3-491C-BD5B-92F23A82CED8.jpeg

Duomo Project / highly contrasted photo of the canvas

I needed to push the contrast on this photo to show you the drawing. In reality it is very hard to see the drawing on the canvas because it is so light. The transfer of the drawing through the spolvero sheet leaves a slight trace, one that does not mix with the paint later. This is the best part of this technique, well, one of the best parts, you get a perfect image to paint, without any mess.

87152979-45D5-49FC-8C29-4A8CE84BC16F.jpeg

Duomo Project / no contrast photo of the spolvero

Above is the actual state of the canvas. As you can see, the drawing is very light.

I am really excited to get started on the next phase of this painting. I have decided to paint from the bottom up. So I will be beginning soon to show you some actual painting. I feel very confident, and I am happy to have studied during the spolvero of 18 hours+ all of the details. Since I have painted many Florentine cityscapes, including the Duomo, that helps too.

This post is part of a series that is the virtual “making of” my latest project. I post new material every time there is significant progress. If you like what you see, make sure to follow me on Steemit @matteopaints so you don’t miss the progress of the project, one that is going forward very well! I look forward to reading your comments, and if you have any questions about my techniques, that’s cool too.

Until the next time!!! A Presto, Matteo

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hey @matteopaints, Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem
If you find posts worthy of a nasty Splatin’ feel free and mention @splatz in your reply to their post. Call me out!!

That is amazing, Matteo ! I can see you've laid out the very foundation with this technique on the spolvero sheet and such fine lines! Ah, I await the progress of this painting muchly :) I can already see the amount of detailing and dedication you've been putting into it will result in a beautiful artwork * ___ *

Those alcoves with the saints in them look superbly drawn * ___ *

Thank you!!! I am very happy with the progress too!! :)

Congratulations @matteopaints! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57856.68
ETH 2352.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43