💧 WATER ART #2 - PAPER - Not all cheap are bad

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, here you are another useful post by Water-art project. We want to present you watercolors from basic, so we started with paper. In a previous post by @jnart you could read about problems with the paper cockling (buckling) and how to stretch it. He also recomends his favourite paper brand.

2018-03-21 (2).png

I would like to share with you some information and tips about watercolor paper, present you my favourite paper brands and also show you the difference between cheap and expensive paper. I have already made a post on this topic, so there will be some citations too.

stripe6.png

First thing you need to know about paper is - there are lots of brands and types. You can choose from dozens and it can take you a lot of time to find the right one for you, but there are some facts which can help you to get an overview.

It is better if you use paper with no acid. It will stay white for a long time. Handmade paper has harder structure and it can be unpredictable sometimes, so it is suitable for experienced artists. Hot pressed paper has really smooth surface - it is great for sharp details. It also alows you to play more, because it doesn’t suck up the water as fast as the cold press. Cold pressed paper has structure and it is suitable for all kinds of use.

And there are also quality grades. If you're a beginner and you want to practice, students´ quallity paper is good enough for you - sufficient properties and acceptable price.

20180321_091656.jpg

I use six types of watercolor paper. From the cheapest to the most expensive. It is important to say, not everytime the most expensive is the best for you. Here you can see the difference between their color and texture. The press, thickness and composition is also different.

2018-03-21.png

My most favourite paper is hot pressed Fabriano cotton paper. It is one of the expensive papers (22-30 USD per block), but it is a real pleasure to use it. It is extremly soft, leaves color shiny and bold. Some paper types makes color a little dull, not all shades show nicely, but this paper shows also the smallest differences. It is also a quite thick, so you do not need to stretch it. I have to say, I stretched a paper maybe twice since I paint, so this is a perfect paper for me.

Here is a detail from one of my painting using this Fabriano paper. You can see sharp edges, smooth gradients and fine color tone changes.

20180321_094323.jpg

I have one more Fabriano paper block. It is in a size of 35,5x51cm and a little cheaper then the previous one according to its size. It is cold pressed, so it is rougher and it has a structure. I used this paper recently for my gemstone paintings ( i guess it was not the best choice). The work is good with it, but I like hot pressed paper more. This one is better for big paintings with less small details. You can see something like a granulation in the painting, so the gradients are not smooth enough.

2018-03-21 (1).png

Now the chapest brands I have! It is said a true master can achieve great results even with a worse tools. I am not sure we can fully apply it on watercolors. Here are two brands of paper I bought at the beginning of my watercolor period.

20180321_100058.jpg

The block (15 A3 sheets) with a horse painting costs 4 - 6 USD. They didnt bother to write a kind of press or the paper composition. The work with it is not very good. It makes grained surface, dull colors and not very sharp edges. It is not suitable for small paintings and if you want shiny colors you should choose something else. I tried to paint a parrot on this paper.

20180321_095938.jpg

The second cheap brand is also cold pressed according to its structure. 25 A4 sheets for 6 - 8 USD is a good price for a good quality. The flower above is painted on this paper. I recommend it for all beginners. It is not perfect, but you will enjoy it and the results will be nice.

dots1.png

Finding of your ideal paper is a long way. You will learn through it about paper nature and the propper use. I hope this post helped you to get some new information. If you want more, be sure to read the next post by @jungwatercolor.

 

Thanks for watching!

Want to recieve all posts of Water-art project? Follow @water-art!

Sort:  

Yesss @marty-arts! I have got a white canvas, is it good for water colours to be mixed with acrylics?

excellent art about watercolors marty

Very well presented, @marty-arts, thank you.

Great post...Useful 😇

You nicely created her emotional effect from this drawing. Wonderful creativity and meaningful art work.

Well done!

Good work @marty-arts , resteemed :)

Very good information, thanks. I will follow you and if you wish, you follow me and we share works.

beautiful artistic post

I love that the three of you are doing this! Such wonderful explanations and good reminders for even those of us who have used the medium for years. You are doing the art god's work :) Great job!

I really enjoy reading about the same topic from different perspectives as well! And they explain it very well to beginners like me so it helps a lot :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25